Giving Gifts Throughout the Season

windowI received a lot of gifts this year.  Some were large; some were small; and many were handmade…my favorite.  Several were edible, a few were antiques, a couple were vintage, and still one or two had the tags and receipts in case I would ever want to return them.  I think not!

But the gifts that brought me the most joy were not the ones I received, but those I gave.  I have friends around the world and many of them started this gift exchange because all of us LOVE getting mail.  I don’t care what it is, my heart leaps at the sight of handwriting on an envelope, or better still a small package.  These across-the-pond gifts are usually tiny things that can slip into an envelope – like an ATC or a book mark, or a simple watercolor made special.  But this year I made the discovery that because I am a member of Amazon here in the U.S., I am also a member of Amazon.co.uk. That solved a dilemma for me because I have surrogate grandchildren and they want toys. Toys are big, and usually the shipping was more than the cost of the toy.  So I am very on board with this Internet commerce – especially when it saves me those whopping postal fees.

But this morning, and it’s around 4 a.m. on the day after Christmas, I woke up already missing the gifting aspect of this holiday.  I feel like I should be in the kitchen stamping out cookies or cutting up fudge.  I want to make more banana breads and blueberry muffins.  I want to leave Secret Santa cards in unusual places and not sign my gifts so that the recipient feels EVERYONE loves them – not just one person.  This is my bliss:  baking and making and tying a ribbon around it.

It is the pagan in me that loves gift giving and I wish everyone would feel the same.  Why not a Fourth of July Tree, or a Memorial Day cookie exchange?  Why should we relegate gift giving to just this time of year?   I have a friend who lives in the woods and can’t help herself.  Every time I see her, she gives me a gift.  So now every time we get together, I give her one as well.  I enjoy this aspect of our time together as much as the eating, antiquing, and talking.

We both learned long ago that good fences make good neighbors, but good cookies make great friends.  Try showing up at your neighbor’s door in February with a gift for no reason, and see how the day pans out.  Better still, just drop the gift off anonymously.   I promise you … you’ll make someone very happy, including yourself.

About whimseytopia

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. At this particular moment in time, I am trying to learn to watercolor. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cat all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Giving Gifts Throughout the Season

  1. You are so wise, Patsye! I fully agree with you, as I like to give gifts just because myself. There’s just something about showing up with a present when it’s not expected that gives me extra boosts of happiness!
    And like you said, even a greeting card mailed, or a handmade card is something one can cherish, because it makes one feel loved and special – for the one sending, making it took the time and really thought about the recipient.

    Thank you again, I felt very loved when opening the envelope hiding your sweet card!

  2. Maxine Cook says:

    Great ideas Patsye! Wishing you peaceful days and abounding happiness in the new year… and the love with which you surround everyone.
    Max

  3. sue marquis bishop says:

    I do so agree. All the hustle and bustle , planning, secrets, baking and making in Nov and dec. is a real high for me too. My mother always said Dec 26 was a bit of a let down. But I never felt that way. I typically feel a big job is done, the smiles and thanks shared and food bounty eaten, carols sung. I feel a big fat sense of satisfaction and gratitude. And a day of rest and leftovers. Sue
    Womenlivinglifeafter50.com

  4. Jill says:

    Hi Patsye!
    I know what you mean. Dec. 26th is one of the hardest days of the year! But, I if you go onto other blogs, you’ll actually find July 4th trees and Valentine trees, I’ve even seen Halloween trees. My friend actually owns a black fir tree that she decorates just like a Christmas tree, for Halloween. It’s lots of fun. Some of the ladies I’ve come across are so cute. They’ll use any excuse to decorate! I always say I’m going to do it too, but never do.
    Back in November I started working with special needs kids at a local elementary school. It’s the first time I’ve been back to work since being a SAHM 10 years ago. And for the first time in a long time Christmas felt exciting. Being at home for so long with little ones and then just being along really affected me. It’s nice being with adults again and being part of something. The kids are adorable when they’re not being terrors, and it was fun exchanging cookies and little gifts. Being out and active again has also helped with the battle of depression I’d been fighting on and off for years – can’t be depressed – no time for it!!

    • whimseytopia says:

      You do realize you are my hero when it comes to crafts. I’ve never, ever known anyone as prolific or as talented. It seemed there was nothing you couldn’t do. You made me want to move to PA just to be near all that creativity. But I get it Jill. If I was younger and had a profession that wasn’t so dangerous (nursing), I’d be back in it now. Perhaps when this renovation is over I may try to pick up a few shifts, but I need to be in a position where I can get enough sleep. That’s not happening now.

      I’ll look up those ideas on trees. Leave it to you to know about this. See. You are the queen of crafting. Good luck with this job, and let’s get back to having a phone conversation. I’d love to hear about the kids and I believe the last time I tried to write, I couldn’t. ??? Hope you had a wonderful holiday, and it was great hearing from you. Patsye

Leave a Reply

