Kitchen Dreams

One of my kitchen dreams.

One of my kitchen dreams.

Because we’re nearing completion of one of the bathrooms, I’ve mentally moved on to the kitchen.  We’ve been in a state of limbo with it because I keep changing my mind.  I need to stay off Pinterest and stop looking at “kitchen idea” books.

Why do I like this one in particular?  It looks like concrete floors; the kitchen is part of a bigger room; I LOVE the drapes hung from the ceiling; I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the stone walls painted white.  The windows are also to die for, and the granite is sublime.  And who doesn’t need two sinks.  The only change I’d make is taking the toaster and whatever else is on the counter, and leaving that area always blank for actual cooking.

Now how can I put up stone walls in my kitchen?

About whimseytopia

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. At this particular moment in time, I am trying to learn to watercolor. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cat all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kitchen Dreams

  1. maureenc says:

    Painted stone walls raise a few points to consider : As there don’t seem to be any exhaust fans for the cooking fumes I would imagine that the rough surfaces would be a “grease magnet” and I dread the thought of keeping the surfaces clean!
    If you really must have painted stone walls, maybe you could compromise with “faux stone” made from cork or even polystyrene and then spray paint with a two coat epoxy for a smooth finish (even though polystyrene is flammable

    Another point mentioned by KittyHere was to get rid of the China -man cap!! Wash your mouf out lady and ENJOY some stir fry cooking!

    The chairs on the room divider?
    One of my favourite restaurants in nearby village has various styles of chairs placed on top pf the veranda of the shopfront, as well as HANGING on the under surface! It always intrigues me…I will have to take my camera with me to get photos to share

  2. KittyHere says:

    The chairs would have to go, they would drive me nuts, even though I am short and normally would not look that high up. Clear counters, in my dreams, but I do use small appliances like toasters, my kitchen-aid mixer, … there are never enough storage places for them except the counter. Plus I am too lazy to cart them. back and forth everyday or two. The large silver thing at the far right would go too — reminds of a “china-man cap” from pre “PC” stories.

  3. maureenc says:

    Interesting! —The chairs on top of the room divider : Are they (chairs) to be considered “art installations” or just storage??

    • whimseytopia says:

      Good for you. I was wondering if anyone would notice them, and I’ve pondered their purpose for a couple of days. I think they’re just up there for storage. Because this kitchen is carved out of a larger room, I suspect there is not much space to spare. What do you think of those painted stone walls?

Leave a Reply

