Banana Cranberry Cake (or: Cranabananaberry Cake!)

Still warm from the oven.

Still warm from the oven.

I ventured out into the Polar Vortex today, half expecting to be sucked into a different dimension, leaving behind minimal clues for my husband so that he’d never know what happened.

But nothing happened, and really I just wanted to go to the grocery store for some sour cream to make my new best cake recipe:  Banana Cranberry!  Actually it’s not my recipe, but rather a variation of a Sour Cream Banana Bread recipe I pulled off the Net years ago.  Over the holidays I thought I should get a jump-start on the 80 lbs. of frozen cranberries I recently squirreled away and threw a half bag of them frozen into the batter just to see what happened.

What happened was Nirvana, and I’ve made this recipe three times in the past four weeks.

Banana Cranberry Cake

Preheat to 350 degrees, Recipe makes two loaves

3 cups all purpose flour; 2 cups sugar; 2 teaspoons baking soda; 1 teaspoon salt; 2 cups mashed overly ripe bananas; 3 eggs; 1 cup canola oil; 1 cup sour cream (can be fat-free, but really, what is the point?); 2 teaspoons vanilla extract. 1-2 cups cranberries.

In one bowl mix all dry ingredients together; in another bowl mix all wet ingredients completely; once combined, fold in cranberries.  Pour evenly into two greased and floured bread pans and bake for 75 minutes.  Check center before you remove.  This is a very moist cake that surprises you with the tart cranberries among the sweetness of the bananas. This and a cup of tea will get you through the Polar Vortex in splendid style.

About whimseytopia

I am an older woman. I am an artist and a needleworker. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. At this moment in time I am crazy for punchneedle. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cat all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Recipes, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Banana Cranberry Cake (or: Cranabananaberry Cake!)

  1. Oh my gosh, this sounds amazing, Patsye! Send over a slice? ;)

  2. Cranabananaberry cake sounds yummy!

  3. Mary Jane says:

    Ithink I have the same recipe, and also consider it my favorite. Except started refering to it as “cranabananaberry cake” just because it’s fun to say…

Leave a Reply

