How to get me to read your blog – again.

Catch your eye?

Catch your eye?

A couple of years ago, when I thought I knew it all, I wrote a post entitled “How to get me to read your blog.”  It was fairly well-received, and I got some feedback and a few subscribers from it.  But the real reason I’m reposting this is because this week I am meeting someone who would like to start her own blog – something I strongly encourage – as a means to be creative and explore what her passions might be.  I’m going to tell her that I think of my blog as a journal; a way to mull things over and then write them down.  As my writing becomes more cohesive on a subject, so too does my mind.  It’s almost like I’m editing my brain by removing unnecessary information and tidying up the story so that it will be memorable because it will be more succinct.

But I’m also going to warn her about the potential harm that can come from writing down things too personal, words that might hurt others, and most importantly plans that may give just a little too much information to be flying around the World Wide Web.

Because I have tried to take my own advice, I have not posted the volumes I have actually written about Stand Your Ground laws, guns, or Sandy Hook, or war, smoking, bad driving, lying, greed, arrogance, television, gaming, religion, immigration, Obamacare, and most recently, unemployment insurance and the wealth gap in America.  Instead, I’ve relegated these posts to storage where they can’t hurt anyone, most especially me.  I doubt there will ever come a time when I can post such things and really speak my mind, but that’s because I’m not looking for controversy.  And that’s the best piece of advice I will give her.

How to Get Me To Read Your Blog

About whimseytopia

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. At this particular moment in time, I am trying to learn to watercolor. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cat all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to get me to read your blog – again.

  1. averyclaire says:

    I love reading your blog!…Love to see your artistic self…..Keep the posts coming!…And above all….good sound advice to your friend! Amen.

  2. Your entries are always entertaining and joy to read!

Leave a Reply

