I’ve Been Pinned! Or is it “Pinched.”

Oh la la is right!

Oh la la is right!

I think it was in 2011, but perhaps 2010, that I did this mantle for Valentine’s Day. While checking my blog today I noticed the search “Valentine’s Vignette” by Pinterest.  Curious, I made my way into the Pinterest machinery and found my photo down some page – like waaaaaay down. I’m thinking I should be happy I’ve been pinned, but instead I feel like I’ve been “pinched.”  Actually, I’ve posted this all on my blog before, and I’m big on sharing. But what an odd sensation to see my work on a website that has absolutely nothing to do with me – including my permission.

But, there it is, and will always be.  Forever.  Someone once said that getting something off the Internet is like trying to remove pee from a swimming pool.

This, of course, was my old house.  And this, too, was when I had both the time and money to decorate to my heart’s content.

After painting “Happy” on the wall, all I had to do was hang a wooden banner (handmade and one of a series that I would change with the next holiday) under Happy and then decorate the mantle.  This particular banner is painted to appear three-dimensional.  The Ooh La La banner is canvas and stained to look old.  The white whale is blowing out hearts that’s really a “pick” from a craft store.  The flowers are felt and glitter and stuffed into a bucket of sand.  The goose was a ’50’s party piece that was in pretty bad shape, but too unusual to pass up.  The owls are a Valentines card I made from cloth and poster board. The rest is just filler.  The “Happy” was painted over before I left that house, but now that I think about it, they might have appreciated my effort.  Or not?

So here are some ideas for your mantle – even if it is a little early.  I’m ready for Valentine’s Day and the warm spring breeze and those thousands of daffodils in my yard that will follow.

About whimseytopia

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. At this particular moment in time, I am trying to learn to watercolor. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cat all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve Been Pinned! Or is it “Pinched.”

  1. averyclaire says:

    Hi Patsye…it is a strange feeling to see your stuff out there! Someone pinched quite a few of my photos that I found on Pinterest! I was pretty angry that they didn’t ask. I just learned how to watermark my photos. Don’t know if it will help, but hopefully I will get the credit then. Hope all is well with you. Hugs.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Was there no acknowledgement of the HAPPY work being yours?
    I would have felt happy to have been “pinned” but I would at least EXPECT to be acknowledged!
    So many old values seem to be disappearing as the cyber world swallows the reality, and unfortunately, good manners and respect for others are major victims.
    Have you considered “watermarking” your photos?

    • whimseytopia says:

      Thank you for writing, and to an extent you are so right. I am flattered to be pinned. I’m not a guru when it comes to social media. I’m not on Facebook, or Twitter, or anything other than here. And watermarking my photos would take away a lot of the clarity, and since I’m not a professional photographer, it seems a little silly. I do realize that there is no privacy, or ownership, when it comes to the Internet. But I still love the Internet and it’s enhanced my life far greater than it has annoyed me.

Leave a Reply

