Some days I just can’t paint.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I went out yesterday and tried to sketch but it was too hot.  So I took snaps of what appeared to be interesting compositions, but they turned out to be boring when viewed out of context. I tried manipulating the photos, but nothing turned out well.

Plan B is always the Internet, and I ran across a site featuring several Charles Reid sketches.  I decided on what appeared to be an easy one, but it actually turned out to be very difficult.  So I put the pencil aside and just painted what I saw.  That didn’t work either.  Colors wrong even if they are identical to Reid’s.  And my subject looks like he has peanut butter stuck on the roof of his mouth or maybe he was stung by a bee on the lip. Wrong light?  Wrong saturation?  Wrong everything.

Some days I just can’t paint.

About whimseytopia

I am an older woman. I am an artist and a needleworker. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. At this moment in time I am crazy for punchneedle. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cat all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Watercolor, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some days I just can’t paint.

  1. maureenc says:

    Don’t worry so much about the end result, but enjoy yourself as you experiment with techniques

  2. tsketching says:

    The way I see it, you did paint and I like it very much. I see sketching and painting as a path and a process and not the end in itself. Only by doing ‘wrong’ drawings one can reach doing the ‘right’ ones.

    • whimseytopia says:

      Thank you for those kind words and I agree whole heartedly. I am very close to turning 67 and this desire to learn to paint well is a major focus in my retired life. But I know that the journey is more important than end result, because we all know the end result – don’t we? I love this process. I wish I’d started sooner but then I learned to swim at 65, and now I swim like a fish. Thanks again for your comment and thanks for reading my blog. Patsye

Leave a Reply

