Glitter In My Mouth

....and more glitter

I have a long history of addiction, but never to the usual stuff like cigarettes, alcohol, or God forbid, Dancing With the Stars.  No, I get addicted to crafting products like stamps, fabrics, and my latest, glitter.

The trend this year is, as it was last year, toward antique ornaments, cards, and all things holiday; anything that looks like it might have been made in the 20’s or 30’s.  Gone, though not entirely, is that Victorian heaviness, and we are now in an age of fluffy crepe-paper adorned papier-mache everything. But, and this is with a capital B, these new decorations are handmade and way out of the boundaries of my budget. No problem.  I can knock off even the best of China.

So who cares if mine are not papier mache, but rather that ground walnut glue mixture that’s poured into a mold and can be broken only with a sledge hammer.  Once I paint it, distress it, and glitter it, unless you pick it up and immediately know by the weight that it’s a copy, it looks perfectly expensive.

Glitter All The Way

Glitter has always been a staple in the craft world, but now more than ever.  Just in the past two months I have bought countless birds, Santas, angels, and and water globes, and glittered so many things that now there’s a thick fog of glitter on everything in my house.  Even my cat appears luminescent when she passes under a lamp. This morning I was brushing my teeth and noticed something between my front teeth that was not responding to my ever more aggressive brushing, so I pulled out my trusty “dental pick” and finally extricated what can only be described as a larger than normal piece of silver glitter.  Does that mean the smaller pieces were swallowed?  I’ve combed it out of my hair, brushed it off my plants, wiped it off my ice-box, and my vacuum itself looks like a Christmas ornament.  I saw some on my husband’s suit jacket on Thursday and thought better than to tell him about it.  Thank God it was windy that day.

3' X 3' of Glittered Joy

With all my growing glitter experience, so too is my glitter acumen.  There is glass glitter and plastic glitter.  Some is shiny and some not so much.  The more you spend, the better it looks.  Apparently even Martha Stewart is in the glitter business, but I can’t recommend her product because my opinion is that it’s too small.  Her “brownstone” glitter color is, however, to die for.

Next year, if glitter isn’t toxic and I’m still alive, I’m going to buy off the Internet.  There are foreign companies in Germany, I am told, that make the best glitter.  If you’re thinking about this, take it from me, a little glitter goes a long way.  Indeed, I did one project from a new bottle over a piece of paper and then tried to return the extra back into the bottle and it wouldn’t fit.  I think it expanded when it hit the air.  Start with the smallest bottle, and if you need more you can always go back.  Trust me.  Glitter is not going away anytime soon.  And remember.  Don’t put your hands near your mouth while working on glitter projects, or you too may wind up looking like the character “Jaws” in the James Bond 007 series.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glitter In My Mouth

  1. kittyhere says:

    Too funny, especially about your “dental pick”. You can see I decided to go back to the beginnings of your blog. Although I have been catching your more recent posts for a month or so.

  2. Impressive read. Keep it going.

    I’ll see you at Hobby Lobby!

Leave a Reply

