Voo-Doo Thrift Shop Economics

I make my New Year’s Resolution(s) about a month before Christmas.  That way when I eventually break them in mid-January, I have at least a modicum of success under my belt.

This year my resolution is about my spending habits.  Imagine that.  Though I consider myself frugal, I noticed a rather conspicuous presence of thrift store charges on my last credit card bill.  Why?  Because I am married to the “deal.”  I can’t bear the idea of paying full price.  Fifty percent off doesn’t thrill me.  I not only want it for next to nothing, but I want that next to nothing to go to charity.  And I get away with this because I know that everything I see advertised on television will eventually wind up at Goodwill.  In fact, I make mental book on when things will start appearing at the thrift stores.  Some items don’t make it much past my resolution-breaking date.  Others I have to wait until spring. Still others won’t appear until next summer’s yard sales. But isn’t this the greatest part about the holidays?  Receiving gifts you don’t really want; the donation process when you feel it’s safe to do so; and then me buying it for pennies on the dollar, often with wrapping paper still stuck on the back of the box!!!

And because I’m in a frenzy over refurbishing old Christmas decorations, I’m fairly driven to distraction going from thrift to thrift waiting for the sound of the screeching bin loaded with Christmas stuff to come through the door.  Though now is the best season for these, I think after Christmas might be even better.   At almost every shop, there is something so fantastic, I start calculating my gas costs and time, and still feel I’ve saved two million dollars.  It’s like that one in a hundred perfect golf shot that keeps you coming back.  Unfortunately, this method of shopping has a sting at the end of it.  If I see something that is so incredibly under-priced, and it is new or in like-new condition, and I personally don’t need it, I’ll stand there wracking my brain for a recipient and a reason to give it just so I don’t miss the deal. Where are the savings in this?

So there’s this year’s resolution.  If I don’t need it for arts or crafts, or it isn’t specifically on my list (something every thrift shop devotee should have for a reference guide to remind them of what they’re looking for), then I’m not going to buy it.  And today I managed to do this.  I went out looking for a glass dome large enough for my latest project, and found it for $1.99, bought it, and headed straight home.  JoAnns and Michaels don’t sell them anymore.  Hobby Lobby does, but they are in the $30 range with base.  So ripping out a plastic clock or ugly floral arrangement is, in my opinion,  not only a viable but a rather good alternative. I think whatever you put under glass always looks better.  And the bonus!  This one is a music box and the whole things rotates.

The “From This to That” project is on Whimseytopia.com.  Come take a look.

Whimseytopia Angel

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

