Cold Weather Crafts

The wind was howling.  It was so blustery last night I had to put a sock on the wind chime, cover the outdoor faucets, wrap the patio umbrella in bungie cords, and cover the plants.  The news said it was in the 20’s and will be so again tonight.  I’m watching the trees sway back and forth.  Did I say trees?  I meant palms.  We live in Florida.

I know what an isobar is, and I understand some of the science behind this extreme weather.  And no, I am not up to my armpits in snow.  But this is suppose to be our “wonderful” time of the year when it’s not in the 90’s and we can actually go outside and get stuff done, like golfing and hiking and seeing sights in Florida that don’t include a waterslide.  But lately it’s been too cold, and I’m too lazy to break out the coats, though now I have a real excuse as to why I don’t donate them.  We have a fireplace, but in six years in this house we have not once turned it on.  That may change.

However, the upside of all this crazy cold weather is that my thoughts have turned to the needlearts like knitting and crocheting sweaters, mittens, and mufflers.   Watching snow flurries during one of the games had me snorkling a massive basket of old yarn and by halftime I had started two projects.  One is a muffler which I have with immediate affection named my Schizophrenic Psycho Scarf because I’m using end yarns of varying colors and weights in a variety of stitches.  And then there’s a pink baby blanket, big yawn, for a friend’s new grandchild.

I like to knit, and I have knitted several items in the past.  But there are so many issues with knitting that make it more technical than I care to deal with as I age.  The dropping of the stitches, the tension of the yarns that never seems uniform (enough), and let’s not forget the potential for poking your eye out.  These are mostly absent in crocheting, so it is this method I have chosen for my projects.

I had forgotten how calming crocheting can be.   What surprised me most was the number of crochet stitches I’ve never tried.  I’d been operating on merely four or five; the single, double and triple crochets, a fan, and the Irish Wonder Stitch, the popcorn.  But finding a book on crochet stitches had me reading about an almost infinite variety of stitches that I am going to have to put in my psycho scarf.  Not only will this shrink the yarn basket (which I will no doubt compulsively refill before winter’s end), but it will give me badly needed practice on new stitches.  I find little fun in YO’ing and then reading, then DC’ing, and then reading.  So the practice is paramount to achieving that Zen-like state many needlewomen swear exists.  I will miss the clicking of the needles, a sound that if it had an aroma would be of chocolate chip cookies.  But I won’t miss the tedious task of reloading my needles just because someone caught an 80-yard pass for a touchdown.

My psycho scarf will be under the “Textile Arts” button on Whimseytopia.com when it’s completed.  I’m giving myself until Christmas to finish it.  The baby blanket is scheduled for two rows a day.  That may take a while, but tedium is not my strong suit. Please visit for updates on my progress, and for fun I’ve uploaded one of my crazier scarf projects made from old silk dresses.

Recycled silk scarf

Recycled silk scarf

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

