Coupon Santa

One of the few things that doesn’t often appear at Goodwill is yarn, and when it does, it’s usually smelly. Knitters and crocheters instinctively know that donating or throwing out unused yarn will always come back to bite them in the balls (of yarn).  I thought I had enough variety of errant yarn to complete my Schizophrenic Psycho Scarf, but of course I don’t.  Now it’s an art project, not just something to do with all that leftover yarn.  So I’m on my way to an actual retail store, like Michaels and Hobby Lobby, and perhaps even a yarn shop (there’s only one within a hundred miles of here so my choices are rather limited.)

Not ever willing to pay full price, I’m on the computer pulling up a variety of coupons for the purchase. Everyone takes everyone else’s coupons except Hobby Lobby.  I can’t blame them.  It’s a good store, always clean and well staffed, and they have spectacular sales so I keep going back.  However, the snub is not reciprocated, and everyone else takes Hobby Lobby Store coupons, so I keep a plentiful supply of everyone’s coupons in my purse when I have to shop like this.

As I was printing out a few, I printed out a few more.  I did this because I have a habit that I love so much, it’s one of my addictions.  I’ll tell you a story…  I was in a shop not long ago asking about a craft, a how-to sort of question, and I’d clearly asked the wrong person.  She hadn’t a clue what she was talking about, so naturally she kept talking, and talking, and talking.  It took a lot of fancy wordwork to extricate myself from the encounter, and I finally made my get-away with my question still unanswered.  This was witnessed by another shopper who apparently felt sorry for me, and when I met up with her in another aisle she initiated a conversation and got straight to my question.  She was so helpful, before we parted I asked her if she had a coupon for her purchase, and she didn’t, so I pulled one out of my purse and gave it to her.  It saved her over $10 on her purchase at 40%.  She was thrilled.  I was appreciative.  Everyone was happy, including the know-it-all lady who seemed to be talking to herself in some faraway aisle, still answering my question.

When I’m finished my shopping, and I know my handful of coupons are about to expire, I’ll hand them to the person behind me, requesting that if they can’t use them to pass them down the line.  This always generates smiles and thank you’s, and periodically a comment on what a great idea this is and they should start doing it as well.  The cashiers never seem to mind.  In fact, I REMEMBER when Michaels was MJDesign, and they used to give you a coupon at the door on your way in.  Some even kept a coupon to scan at the counter to take some off at least one item if you had none with you.

Sharing coupons with strangers may seem anti-commerce to some.  But I haven’t had my government bail-out yet, have you? And it might seem to be a bit too touchy-feely for others.  You can decide for yourself, but I love the opportunity to share everything art, including coupons.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

