Where Does Luck Come From?

At the bottom of Dragon's Neck

Near the Dragon's Neck Bridge, Orrs Island, Summer 2010

The past six years of my life have been indescribable.  So I won’t.  But along with tragedy there has been tremendous joy, the greatest of which was last summer.  I drove 24 hours and 1398 miles to Bailey Island, Maine, where I spent the season walking, laughing, eating, exploring, digging, collecting, painting, listening, watching, marveling, and making new friends.  I wish I was there now.  My heart will be there forever.

If Once You Have Slept on an Island By Rachel Lyman Field

If once you have slept on an island
You’ll never be quite the same;
You may look as you looked the day before
And go by the same old name,

You may bustle about in street and shop;
You may sit at home and sew,
But you’ll see blue water and wheeling gulls
Wherever your feet may go.

You may chat with the neighbors of this and that
And close to your fire keep,
But you’ll hear ship whistle and lighthouse bell
And tides beat through your sleep.

Oh, you won’t know why, and you can’t say how
Such change upon you came,
But–once you have slept on an island,
You’ll never be quite the same!



About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

