Serious Solstice

Textile Art by Patsye at Whimseytopia.com

Winter Solstice Full Moon Eclipse Celebration

Art canvas is my medium of last choice.  I’d rather paint on furniture, clothes,  or even glass and shells.   Purses, shoes, and scarves take paint well if they are properly prepared, and non-fuzzy fabrics are best.  But clothing necessarily needs cleaning, and if you wash the art with it, it can degrade rapidly.   Therefore it’s always a good idea to find a way to remove the art from the article and then replace it after cleaning.  This not only ensures its longevity, but it allows it to jump hosts when you tire of the look.  Or… OMG!!! gain weight and can’t wear that shirt or jacket, or jeans, any longer.

Back in the dark-age ’80’s the fad of wearing denim jumpers was huge in my hometown. I remember a shop that sold not just the jumpers, but a quilted or painted patch (about 4.5″ X 4.5″) that had Velcro on the back of each corner.  This matched four Velcro squares on the upper bodice of the jumper.  Press on…pull off.  Most were holiday oriented. Rabbits, eggs and baskets for Easter, Santas for Christmas; that sort of thing.  I bought dozens until I realized how easy they were to make.  I even made miniature versions of my finished quilts and proudly wore them on my chest like medals.  I also made patches to hold my metal tie-tac pins of sewing machines, quilting groups, and whatever I didn’t want (or couldn’t get) to poke through the denim.  I had several dresses, some khaki colored, some dark and some light blue.   I do recommend denim as the vehicle because it has the heft to hold up no matter what you hang on it, a potential problem you might have with other, not-so-sturdy fabrics.

In retrospect this all sounds a little hokey, but I believe it’s the imagery that makes it so. I am now thinking more of fine art, or primitive art, or new age art, or even comic book art that is iconic and trendy and can be either painted on an article of clothing, or adhered as a patch like the one above.  There is nothing totally new under the sun (cough, I mean moon), of course, but I had a wonderful time doing this one, sans pattern, by just letting my creative juices flow.  I now have something to commemorate the historic celestial event (which I saw, by the way), and what a fun and green way to rid your studio of scraps.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Altered Clothing, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

