Artist Trading Cards: Are they past their prime?

ATC Paris Mixed Media

I can remember the very moment I saw my first ATC, the details of which are unimportant, but the result of which was an epiphany of such magnitude it has changed the way I create.  ATC’s got me back into art.  They seemed so non-intimidating, so easy and so broad in scope.  How could I go wrong on such a little project?  How much time and energy would be required, and how much bang for my buck could these provide? And once I started making them and experienced the resulting success, I gathered the courage to try other things, projects more complex.   But ATC’s were the key that allowed me to begin to conquer my depression.  And it worked.

I loved them from the start.  I loved everything about them, and I still do.  I tried to start a Meet-Up (Meetup.com where you look for others to join together in a collective of like minds). One person joined but she wasn’t really into it.  Actually she never tried to make one.  I eventually found some kindred spirits, just by asking around, yet no one seemed as addicted (there’s that word again, #5) as I was.  I made hundreds.  I tried to trade.  I found one swap and was sorely disappointed with the results.  I came home with cards that smacked of little care and less art.  One person glued a button on a playing card.  What the…

ATC Summer Mixed Media

So I tried the Internet and got confused with the big swaps.  This seems to be bigger in Europe and Asia than it is here.  I blamed myself.  I felt I’d set the bar too high for others, and wasn’t this about sharing ideas, methods, and the shear excitement these cards generate, and meeting new people?  I was angry with myself for not being able to navigate the challenges and swaps.  It seemed my talents stopped with the capacity to make them, but not trade them.

While waiting for an Ebay auction to end I did a quick search on WordPress to see if I could find anything on ATC’s.  What I found were old blogs, from 2009, and I immediately worried I had missed the boat.  I was reminded that lately I hadn’t seen books about ATCs, even at Barnes and Noble.

ATC Owl Mixed Media

So I am going to put some of mine up here, in case anyone accidentally hits the button of my blog.  And if you are one of those blind squirrels, please write to me and we can chat cards.  Even trading them electronically, like sending pictures of our work, would be fun. But I’m happy to slip a card in the mail and start trading with others, which was the point in the first place.

I hope to hear from someone.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Artist Trading Cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

