Hokie, Hokie, Hokie, Sigh.

Probably an Omen

Before I left for Miami I was going to “sign up” to the “Blog Everyday” promotion on WordPress.  I felt up for the challenge.  I was motivated. My fingers were clicking in neutral and my ideas were bouncing off each other.

It’s day five into this new year and I’m almost too busy to write.  The conundrum is clear.  If I’m creating, I have no time to write.  If I’m not creating, I have plenty of time to write, but little to write about, unless you count my sporting life.

On New Year’s we drove to the Orange Bowl and by Saturday night we were exhausted with the craziness of the Miami-to-Ft. Lauderdale beach scene which was overrun with Virginia Tech Hokies. Don’t know where the Stanford Cardinals were, but clearly they were out practicing and eating well followed by long hours of rest.  We managed to see so much, do so much, eat so much, and then in the end, lose so much.

Bobby Bowden and Bob Griese at Fanfest

It was a great game with a lousy ending. The first half kept us guessing.  I thought we were in contention until the second half when our defensive line forgot to come out of the tunnel and our offensive line must have been sitting in our section on the 50-yard line. There was a lady (?) so out of control, so full of rage at the way we were playing, had Beamer put her in she might have won the game for us.  But there were also some serious geezers who just sat mute.

There’s such passion in college football that, for the lucky ones like us, doesn’t fizzle with age.  We just refuse to give up.  We scurried and screamed and bounced the stadium with students 45 years our junior.  That pulsating concrete used to scare the tar out of me when I was younger, but now it’s just fun. We didn’t drink ourselves into oblivion, but we did spend a fortune on $10 ticket covers and useless junk.  Alumni historically stay at better hotels, eat at good restaurants, and buy great seats.   Isn’t this really why we go to college?

Up In Smoke

We went to the famous Las Olas Art Fair, and navigated the entire Riverwalk in Ft. Lauderdale.  We ate at the famous Bubba Gump Shrimp and grabbed some local sand to bring home for crafting (which really is shipped in from the Bahamas).  We were on a two-(wo)man buying binge and for the first time in a long time, and it was all good.

I had a blast.  My husband had a blast. We’d waited for this vacation, forgoing Christmas, anniversary and birthday presents.   And it was worth it.

Forget the things you may have heard about the average age of Florida residents, the cultural mix, or the, dare I say, traffic.  The trip couldn’t have been better. (Yes it could. We could have won.)   The streets were clean, the beer cold, the locals gracious, and the mood festive.  If you ever get the chance, see South Florida.  Bring your camera, your 401K, and prepare to party.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

