Soldered Bookmarks

Keep Blogging!  Isn’t that the mantra?  But unless I take a trip through my closet and pull out some past projects, I won’t be able to maintain this pace.  Several of you create daily. How do you do it?  Do you eat out a lot?  Is there a maid involved?

Picture from Magazine; Assemblage Mine

There are numerous short-lived crafts in my past.  But I never throw the supplies away because my fickle nature almost guarantees I’ll go back to it eventually.   One that saw a rather fast demise was soldering.

Soldered Stickers

And I had good reasons.  Soldering should be done outside.  I don’t believe for a minute it’s safe to solder inside without industrial quality ventilation (something I don’t have).  So if it’s hot out (normal) or it’s cold (the new normal), I can’t do this.  I bought a cart (at Goodwill) to store my supplies and can roll it outside to the lanai when the weather is right.  Soldering tools are inexpensive (except I would invest in a stellar soldering tip), and glass is cheap.

Bookmark Beginnings

Almost every big city has a lab supply company for microscope slides. Solder (the non-leaded kind) you can get at Lowes, along with a tinning block and clamps.  The copper sheets and tape I bought online at a stained-glass window supply company.  The jump rings can also be bought in bulk and with a coupon (always a coupon).  I’m no expert so I did quite a bit of research on the Internet before I started.   I think anything that produces smoke that will be breathed in deserves a long look.  That’s the nurse in me.

Then you just have to find the images.  I cheated on my first one (pictured above right).  The image came from a magazine (credit unknown – sorry), but I soldered the surround, added the drop pearl, antique sterling silver, non-working watch, and my initials with a glass bead.

When I began I felt the soldering had to be first-class.  I got over that quickly. Here’s some of my practice pieces, which were done on small mirrors. 

first attempts

It wasn’t long before I was soldering microscope slides with stickers and magazines image collages.   Adding jump rings got easier and easier each time I did one.  I never got to the point of painting small pictures because I thought the soldering part was the most fun.  Those glass beads on the hanger (“?”) are the same beads you find in the garden section of Michaels to put in flower vases. I would add an image and then put the copper tape (from a sheet) cut to a circle on the back and solder, adding a jump ring.

I enjoyed this craft and will surely go back to it if the Florida weather ever starts to cooperate.  It’s one of those practice, practice, practice crafts, but like anything else, that’s how you get good at it.  (Which, by the way, I never really did.)  Bookmarks make great gifts.  Just ask my friends.

Ticket Bookmark

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Jewelry, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

