Valentine Vignette, A “Happy” Mantle

Valentine's Mantle

Just in time because I was getting tired of going up and down the ladder.  This Season of Love has its dedicated mantle, and now I am going to sit until February 15th and look at it.  Going from left to right, the small cupboard was old, cracked, and the perfect fit for a recent Valentine’s textile piece.

Valentine's Cupboard

The whale is vintage kitsch, with a sheer wired ribbon tutu added, a blow hole drilled to hold cascading wired hearts, and a cardboard banner painted and stamped with “whale love” because “We’ll have a whale of a time” wouldn’t fit.  Another textile art card follows this and was shown in a previous blog.

Valentine Whale

The seahorse is up there because I like glitter and it gets better looking as it ages. I didn’t make it or the bird thing on a can that was purchased from a specialty shop. The bucket is a yard sale item. The shells in it are from a local beach. The flowers are made of tea- stained canvas, and a variety of centers ranging from papier mache to buttons and more stained fabric, and are all handmade.  They are glued to wooden skewers.

New and too cute to pass up.

The duck is an almost-antique and originally had an exceedingly long tail.  I cut it off for economy of space.

Fabric Valentine's Flowers

Flowers and glitter on the duck are original, and I like this piece so much because it’s made from something natural, like a reed of some kind.  If anyone has any knowledge about where it may have come from or how old it might be, I’d love to hear from you.  I remember the tag said it is from the 1950’s, but you can never be sure.  It reminds me of Hawaii (not that I’ve been there).

Where is this from?

The harlequin cup goes into almost every mantle I do.  I agree with Mary Englebreit that black and white checks belong everywhere.  The flowers in the vase are from Goodwill and are usually picked clean for other projects.  I just keep replenishing them as they are denuded.  The pennant banner came from an old over-stretched canvas from my stash of old over-stretched canvases (I have so many), then hand-painted and stamped.  The lettering Ooh La La! is also hand-painted with acrylics.  They are attached with Whimseytopia stamped clothes pins to a six-foot branch of winter dried crepe myrtle with the seed pods intact.  I painted the branch white, and then distressed it for visual brightness.  I also spray varnished it to keep the seeds from dropping all over the place.

Banner up, sign painted, and I'm HAPPY.

The St. Valentine’s Day sign is on a recovered piece of pine, cut and painted to look like a flowing banner.  This was the most time consuming part of the project.  The HAPPY is actually painted on the wall, and will remain for the next mantle vignette (probably Easter).  In fact it will probably remain until I change the color of the walls in this room.  I’ll just keep putting up new signs underneath.   To the right of this is a built-in stepback with glass shelving. I will eventually fill this with whatever I find in the thrift stores as Valentine’s Day approaches. This was a fun project.  I hope you enjoyed seeing it as much as I enjoyed creating it.    (Click on each photo to enlarge it, and feel free to copy anything you like. My intent is to share and inspire, as well as wish you all an early Happy Valentine’s Day.)

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Phototopia, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

