ATCs: From Soap to Nuts

I’ve been snorkeling the Internet ATC sites lately.  There seems to be no end to the variety of ways people make them.  Many simply paint small pictures, which is great if you’re an artist.  Others make them from mixed media that is either new or they recycle what is a gold mine of ephemera right under our noses.  For instance:

From This

I buy soap from discount stores after Christmas for several reasons: they are always drastically marked down; the soap bar is huge so it’s easier for me to hold onto; and I think I’m getting a better deal because I don’t have to change it so often. But the best reason, at least I think so, are the boxes they come in. People pay just for boxes like these with stamped images on them.  I prefer to redo them with my own images. This box of soap is already the holder of my newest ATC (for trade if anyone is interested).

To This

The whole process of cutting out images and gluing them over what was there took about ten minutes.  Recycling can be as simple or as complicated as you care to make it.  I choose simple.  In this case I just used what was left over from making the ATCs.

There are five them, having discarded the requisite two that I messed up with smeared ink, and they are all basically similar.  The backgrounds are magazine images.

There are two stamps (I honestly don’t know who makes them because they are old and covered in smeared ink).

ATC Tickets

One is the compass and the other is the letter “W.” The foot is one of those three-dimensional plastic sticky things (note my keen grasp of ATC nomenclature), and the Ticket and Admit One were cut from the same image as you see on the front of the box. If I remember correctly, I got them from a Ballard Design catalog. The lid has a copy of a One Pound Sterling postage stamp from a catalog of an English auction house (which I found years ago at a yard sale).  The shredded filling is recycled from who knows what, and added for texture effect.

Ticket ATC

These were simple, quick and fun to make.  Something to do while I listened to the State of the Union address.  I hope someone would like to trade with me.  I have so many cards just hanging around. I have to admit, ATCs for art’s sake are a lot of bang for my buck, and very satisfying for a one-night project.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Artist Trading Cards, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

