Sitting and Knitting and Quitting, oh my!

Wool Felting

Tonight is the big night.  The knitting club.  I’m nervous.  I’ve got my stash of yarn, some needles, and a healthy dose of fortitude to take with me.  I’ll know no one there, so that’s always difficult.  But it’s in a grocery store (must be one of those trendy ones with couches and places to gather) which seems pretty non-threatening.  Food, wool, and women; a combo that works well for me.

Sheep felted bag

We’re suppose to bring a knitting journal.  I don’t have one, but will bring my art journal instead.  And I will bring my other wooly projects, things I have COMPLETED that I’m happy with.  All are purses, and they’re the kind where you take a sweater, wash it, dry it in the dryer to felt it, and then decorate it with yarns, or wool roving, or whatever else you can find that will stick.  These are a lot of fun to make and this first one was supremely easy.  I just found a sweater at Goodwill that had a sheep knitted into it and after applying the process, voila!   Unfortunately the strap (though fashioned from the cuff of the sweater) kept stretching out. So it’s a great purse if you don’t put anything in it.

Yarn Bag from Felted Sweater

The smaller, colorful one, was even more fun to make, as I kept needle felting in more yarn, twirling and pulling on the yarns to collapse them.  I like this one the best and wish it was big enough for my IPad.  I solved the stretchy strap problem by filling it with piping cord, though this was very difficult to thread once sewn and turned right side out.  But surprisingly I didn’t quit and the safety pin didn’t open, and I’ve used this several times, always with compliments.

The third one is just for art, and has never been carried.  The lobster consists of two red yarns for some depth, but still looks like a lobster pancake.  The ribbon worked well as seaweed, and the glass handle is just that, glass beads from an old necklace.  The red buttons go through button holes to close it, and it’s lined with white satin.

The Pancake Lobster Felted Bag

The biggest problem here was the wool jacket was not felted enough, so it doesn’t have enough heft to it.  But I’ll keep trying.  I find these wooly projects fun because as I’ve said many times before, I love the feel, smell and look of wool.  And sheep I began to love the moment I saw the movie Babe.  And for anyone interested in how I got the lobster image felted on the bag, I will SOON be putting instructions on felting with cookie cutters on Whimseytopia.com.  I’m readying myself to do another one because I found the cutest cupcake cookie cutter (say that five times fast) at Hobby Lobby and have an idea for the icing on the cake.

 


About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

