Wallpaper ATCs

The weather is starting to warm and I’m thinking yard sales; having a yard sale that is.

Attic Wallpaper

This winter has seen an explosion of organization in my crafting life partially due to my blogging and spending more time in this room, but also because I know as I get older, I better put a label on it or it will disappear into the netherworld of my studio, never to be heard from again, or at least until I find it while looking for something else.

One of the things I put in the yard-sale pile is an unopened roll of wallpaper.  When I bought it at a yard sale I must have thought papering just one wall would be nice, or maybe I was thinking it would do well as a border (when borders were popular).  Whatever the case, it had a $1 price tag on it when I bought it, and now it is going for 50 cents.

WAS going for 50 cents.  I promptly took it out of the pile when I realized it would make the perfect background for a thousand ATCs.

Too Cute To Toss

No, I’m not going to make a thousand ATCs from it, but I would like to share it with others who may want to make a few as well.  It’s heavy, pre-pasted paper (which will be great if you add water and place it on top of a playing card). When it’s dry, cut around the edge for a perfect fit, and start adding whatever suits your fancy.  It has a vinyl covering, though it doesn’t feel like it, and a light sanding would eliminate any sticking problem.

ATC Flower Queen

Here are some of my ideas; cards that just popped into my mind, and all are available for trade.  I have six of them.  I didn’t do much because the background is so pretty; just a few garden stamps and a crown.  But most importantly, if you would like some of this wallpaper, I’ll send it to you in a folded 21″ x 10″ which will allow for plenty of waste and still give you twenty cards.  Ironing before decorating will take out any creases the shipping or postal service will produce.  Just send me a self-address stamped envelope after making a request to my email, and I’ll send the wallpaper in your envelope.

Another Version

And if not, look in your own attic or basement, or future yard sale excursion, for useable wallpaper. Now that I think about it, when I remove old wallpaper from walls, I do so with an iron and wet rag, and by the time I throw it out, it’s stiff again and some of the pieces are large enough to be recycled into an ATC project.  Perhaps some wallpaper from a baby’s room that you’d like to scrapbook as an ATC.  I wish I’d thought of this years ago. Probably many ATC enthusiasts are already doing this, but for me it was a unique thought I’d wanted to share.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Artist Trading Cards, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

