Trading ATCs: I’m hooked!

Today I received my first ATC in the mail.

June

I’d traded before, but it was an orchestrated trade where you didn’t really have a choice.  You put down several of yours, and picked up several of theirs. Clearly this was not the optimal way of getting fair trades.  However, finding artists via WordPress, seeing and admiring their work, and then asking for a trade is a great way to exchange ATCs.  I am so thrilled with my first card, I can’t wait to put it in a new album I’ve started just for my traded cards. Furthermore, the FUN of waiting for the card, the ANTICIPATION of it arriving in the mail, reminded me of when I was a kid and I’d ordered the Mr. Peanut plastic bank. Actually I think that took a few torturous months to arrive, but when it did I am sure I was no more thrilled than I am today. My thanks to Jill at Bucks County Folk Art, a Blogspot.com site I highly recommend.  She writes a great blog, and is a very talented artist.  I hope to trade with her again and always enjoy visiting her Etsy store to see what she’s up to. I’ve added her to my links, so please visit her for fun and inspiration.

Mixed Media Valentine ATC

As a coincidence, I was working on a new series of ATCs for Valentine’s Day.  These are mixed media, with fabric and paper flowers, shell stems and heart, and simple stamps. I’m happy with the way they turned out.  I have another card I’m waiting to receive, and I’m hoping my knitting needles arrive in time for me to do my “homework” before the next knitting club meeting.

A Gaggle of Valentines

Here’s a question that perhaps someone in the ATC world can answer.  I use E6000 glue and find it works extremely well no matter what I’m gluing to what. But the sting is that it stinks to high heaven. I always need to put the glued item(s) outside to air out, and sometimes for as long as a few days.  Can anyone recommend a glue that works as well but doesn’t smell so badly?  I’d appreciate it.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Artist Trading Cards, Assemblage Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trading ATCs: I’m hooked!

  1. Book Binding Glue. (But you’ve likely already solved this problem, since it’s now 2014. LOL. ~ x ~

    • whimseytopia says:

      Actually no one replied, and I’ve still be using the stinky stuff. Thanks for the good advice. Patsye

      • I have a thing .. I have lot’s of glues and they all do different things, but .. if I’ve got something which I want to stick and make it still (hopefully) for ever, I use Book Binding Glue. (Pinflair is the brand I use – but I’m not sure if you can get that where you are).

        It will even stick light(ish) weight woods together.
        I made a wooden box with Gingerbread faces/men stuck to the inner and outer back of the box, but couldn’t think of what glue to use to make them stick – so I turned to the Book Binding Glue and VOILA! Stuck firm – and still stuck now – approximately .. hm….. I’m guessing about seven or eight years. Can’t remember if it was the Pinflair brand back then – but it was in the same shaped pot so might have been.

        I’ve used it to stick fabric to card; fabric to chipboard; chipboard to heavy thick chipboard; wood to wood and probably other things – but my brain power doesn’t last that long anymore so I run out of memory. LOL.
        ~ Cobs. x

    • maureenc says:

      Because most of my ATCs and Postcards are of fabric construction I tend to stitch pieces to anchor them. IF I do make paper cards I use just an ordinary PVC glue or glue stick. Maybe I should try the book binding glue recommended by Cobs At present time I’m still in a funk for anything constructive and I’m doing heaps of reading, both with REAL books as well as my Kindle.

Leave a Reply

