ATCs From Old Catalogues

Magazines and catalogues are my primary source for images when making an ATC.  First, the images are often small and part of a larger grouping in an ad, and more importantly interesting items can be found in the background of larger photos that highlight something else.  Look deeply into these for hidden gems, and remember to keep colors and tones in the same category for a more polished look.

Bingo Time

Having said that, the images can be distinct and varied. Putting several different genres of images together evokes a sense of metaphor, causing the viewer to look for meaning where there may or may not be any. Either way, if the recipient of the card holds it for more than a second or two, chances are you’ve created a piece of art, which was the goal in the first place.  I sewed a zig-zag seam around the edges for the requisite texture I crave in all my cards.

Six of Seven

Each of these ATCs were placed on a copy of the classic Bingo card, gleaned off the Internet and scaled down to the size of a playing card. The rest are cut from pages of Ballard Designs, a home furnishings catalogue that I rarely buy from but that doesn’t stop them from sending me something every few months.

Rabbit and Crow

Except for Anthropologie, the ultimate in imagery catalogue, this is the next best thing.

The remnants of these catalogues have been fairly picked clean and reduced to a small envelope of cut-out words and a few leftover images that didn’t fit the tone of the current cards. However, I will no doubt find another use for them in the future. These are for trade if anyone is interested.  My first two trades were so successful, I’m anxious to do more.  Anyone?

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Artist Trading Cards, Assemblage Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

