ATC Paperweight Redux

Paperweights are easy to find in any thrift store or, as a last resort, antique shop. Normally they showcase a souvenir image or a replica of a famous piece of art.

Oriental Image Paperweight

They come in domes, rectangles, ovals and squares. And they run in the $1 to $5 range, but you can certainly pay as much as you like.  I like the $1 paperweight because I’m going to remove the image anyhow and replace it with my own.   I’m not sure what this particular image is, but the glass was in excellent condition, and minus scratches and crazing, though crazing can be useful depending upon what you plan to replace the image with.  I carefully peeled off the backing, setting it aside with the intent to reuse it because it too was in excellent condition.  That’s because this is a redux/recycle project!

Collage ATC Paperweight

I also reused the image itself, pancaking (flipping) it and gluing my collage, piece by piece, directly to the back.  It was a heavy weight cardstock and perfectly cut to fit the glass, giving me a great template.  All these images are, once again, from The Ballard Design catalogue, and the base image is a copy of a Bingo card left over from the last series of ATCs I recently blogged about. (Remember I throw nothing away.)  Once dry, I glued the card back to the saved felt backing which had retained enough stickiness to adhere nicely to the freshly cleaned glass.

Unique Gift

No one else in the world will have your own handcrafted paperweight making it unique to your colors and taste.  Dome shapes work particularly well with photos of faces, and it’s fun to add crowns, funny hats and text.

The whole project took about an hour, which fits perfectly into my evening attention span. So the next time you see a paperweight in a thrift store, perhaps you’ll think twice about walking on by.  This would make a lovely handmade gift for someone who, like me, has a messy desk and an open window.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Artist Trading Cards, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

