Cuff Stuff

Yesterday had a tag on it that read:  work on the crow heads and cover the stars with fabric. (Now unless you read this post regularly, you are completely lost.)  I didn’t work on the heads because they are still wet from the excessive moisture in the air from days and days of raining cats and dogs.  And to keep things rolling in the wrong direction, the cardboard stars my beloved cut for me would not keep still while I tried to sew the fabric around them.  And I didn’t want a gluey look.  So that’s two projects returned to the in-box.

cuffs and wristlets

However, I did find a fabric I thought might grab the cardboard, and of course it didn’t. It’s an old quilt and while trying to make the star thing work, I realized the quilt could be cut into star shapes without benefit of cardboard, and would work just as well, if not better, in a banner, but then what do I tell my husband who did all that work?   Furthermore, I can’t cut the quilt into stars because of that injury I sustain last Thanksgiving (probably nerve damage that’s been slow to heal).   So now I have to ask my husband to start cutting out fabric stars, and we will instead cover the cardboard stars with book pages and make collage banners.  No loss.  Lots of gain.  And we are doubling our recycling efforts. At least that’s what I’m going to tell him… that this is a good thing.

angora, flowers, buttons

So I’m looking at the quilt and realize there’s ample fabric in it for the stars and perhaps something else.  I’m loving the stitching even though it’s machine-done and now I’m thinking cuffs.

silk selvage, wool, and ceramic doll hand

I’ve made them before but never from a quilt.    The stitching is perfect because it’s strong and tight, and fortunately I had little difficulty cutting a few strips with the rotary cutter, something I can do with my left hand.  I surrounded myself with boxes of sewing stuff, cranked up my Singer Curvey, put NPR on the radio, and the next thing I knew it was six o’clock.  I think the rain put me in a time warp, and I regained my wits when the phone rang, my husband telling me he’s on his way home.  I completed five in one day, and not unlike ATCs, they afford a lot of latitude in creativity.   As usual, while I’m making one, I’m thinking of another way to make the next. It’s a deliciously vicious circle with me, always imagining the next project while I’m wrapping up the previous one.

Hopefully these will sell in the Shooth because making them, like my ATCs, can be done in one sitting and are essentially unique, though it would be easy to make two or three of the same at one time.  My friend Maggie in Mt. Dora makes them and sells them in bulk. But then everything Maggie makes sells well.  She’s a visually creative sewing genius.

I’ve mentally designed wedding cuffs, prom cuffs, girls-night-out cuffs, and for every other event short of A-Day-At-The-Laundromat cuffs.  I visited some of Etsy’s cuffmakers, as well as other home-grown Internet shops, and found Steampunk, Grunge, Victorian, Biker, Erotica, and some of my personal favorites, just plain Americana; folk art cuffs featuring plenty of crows.  Crows!  That reminds me….

details

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

