More Cuff Stuff, and a tiny little rant.

Three closures on a $1 silk blouse

Shame on me for not updating my last blog while I had the chance, but I thought it was important enough to do so now.

When searching for snaps and clips, or any other way to close these cuffs (preferably with one hand) I found the “fabric” store (which I’m now sooooooo disappointed in for its soaring prices I won’t ever again refer to it by name) was charging $6 for ornamental closures, $4 for plain but oversized ones, and $3 for generic. There was a package of closures, I think it contained 4 pair, and it was $8.99!  And it gets worse.  You were REQUIRED to purchase the “tool” to attach them to the fabric, another $8.99. Are you kidding me? Are they kidding me?  Are they kidding themselves?  Now it’s in stone.  I’m avoiding this store like the plague.  It will be a last-resort-only-to-save-the-project solution for me to walk in there and give them another dime.  It is clear that they have factored in their coupon scheme, and now if you don’t have one you are paying double the value, which is ridiculous to the absurd because the value is indeterminate….it’s a tiny piece of metal with or without some fabric wrapped around it.

Fortunately or unfortunately there is a Wal-Mart nearby that carries the same manufacturer of sewing notions, so I looked there but they were sold out.  Wonder why? Seems everyone knows more than me.

Until (there’s an epiphany here) I realized all (most) clothes in Goodwill costs $4.  So no matter what’s on those clothes, like a zipper, or hooks and eyes, or clasps or clamps, or decorations, beads, collars, and lots and lots of buttons, it’s still $4.  And I found a silk blouse within five minutes that had THREE of the closures that nameless fabric store was charging $6 each, and because this particular blouse had a stain on it, they charged me $1. That’s three closures for $1, instead of No-Name Fabric Store charging me $18 for the same thing.  Not to mention, I’m getting a couple of small snaps, some buttons, a pair of shoulder pads, and whatever yardage of silk was required to complete a size 18 blouse. It’s huge, and will head straight to my silk stash box.

And how is it possible that I didn’t already have the closures I needed?  I know, I was surprised too.

So, what, is this my umteenth post on Goodwill Hunting.  But each and every time this happens I am more and more convinced this is what we should be doing in our arts and crafts.  Strike that.  This is what I should be doing.  I have no problem with others buying new things to make new art, especially since they have the money.  I see some beautiful card pieces I would love to get my hands on, but they’re not in my budget.  I get a daily email from a local vendor who is holding classes for cardmaking, and I estimated that the average cost of making a card is around $8, with plenty of left overs, but leftovers I don’t need, unless, it would appear, they are ornamental closures for cuffs.

So it’s back to Goodwill for me, and I will champion the thrift stores and their business models forever!

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

