Cufflettes: Art on Your Wrist

cufflettes

You can’t open a fashion magazine without seeing the latest “cuff” styles.  They are Continental as all get out, and at the very least American Urban.

Making them is fun but time consuming. There are non-apparent technical issues like weight, structure, viability, maintenance (protecting the charms and cleaning the cuff if it gets dirty), and the ever-present “final look,” that you won’t see until you get there.  But I’m learning, albeit slowly.  Belle Armoire just had a call for items made from scraps.    I “cudda been a contender” for this competition because I keep a 55-gallon-drum-size bag of scraps.  I throw nothing away. I’m absolutely convinced the minute it leaves the property it will be the fundamental piece of fabric that is essential to whatever I’m making.

zippered charm cuff

So in a comical quest to have everything I need for a project on hand, I keep piling even the tiniest snippets of this or that in there, and, no I haven’t pulled anything in the other direction…..YET!  But it won’t be long before I have enough to stuff a good-sized mattress. However, I missed the deadline.

Anyone can submit their art at any time, though I imagine they have their issues planned way in advance.  I suppose they need filler.  So I decided to take the plunge and “just do it!”   I want to be filler!

I designed them.  I made them.  I put the instructions for making them on paper.  I wrote the blurb about myself, sent in the check (to get them back), and now the waiting begins.

details on crocheted lace cuff

I made ten.  I sent five.  And I’ve taken these photos (and thirty more like them) so I can retrace my steps to make more.   Previously published items are not acceptable, but the stipulation is that you can have them appear on your own Internet site, like a blog, etc. Multiple submissions are also disallowed, so I had to choose Belle Armoire as my one shot for these.

It’s from the Stampington & Company milieu and is a great read, I might add. I am very impressed with the quality of their articles, both for photography and writing.  So it did not surprise me that if, in the unlikely event I am chosen for publication, they require pictures, they will be taking them, not me.  I’ll keep you posted.

rhinestone bobbin charm

Do you remember that “Has Anyone Seen My Sewing Machine?” blog? You will recognize some of these pieces in the pile. What a mess!!!  What fun!!! And all this started with  Cuff Stuff. Please wish me luck!!!

All photos and text herein are copyrighted: Whimseytopia.com.  No reproduction is allowed without express written consent from the author.  (Just this once.)

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Altered Clothing, Assemblage Art, Jewelry, Phototopia, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

