Stereoscope and Cabinet Cards

Yesterday’s blog containing a staged grouping of cabinet photos generated a question about where I got them.

stereoscope kissing cards

I’ve been collecting them for years, along with stereoscope cards. I have about 25 of the stereo-cards, and they are unique in that each one depicts someone kissing someone, or something (in one case a donkey).  I learned years ago that I had to somehow “define and confine” my collections or I would wind up with mounds of uninteresting stuff (which I did anyway).  So I limited myself to one viewer and the “kissy” cards.

small cabinet cards

My other photo collection is the cabinet card.  Originally I limited these to children.  They seemed the most beautiful with their large collars, and I enjoyed the daydreams of who they were and what happened to them that seemed to follow each purchase.   Now that these images are so prevalent in collage, cards, scrapbooking and ATC art, I have use for them beyond being a collectible, and I often scan and cut out what will make my art unique.

But apart from all these ethereal images, collections, and saving money by recycling, I am extremely drawn to the photographer’s logos.

Hartley Cabinet Card

Calligraphy, cursive, and the artistic pen add beauty to these logos and remind me of a time when writing anything was time-consuming and purposeful and made to be a work of art.  The complexity and beauty of a logo was often the merchandising of the photographic product.  Surround the photo with beauty and the photo will look better, was the idea behind this and it worked. Some of these are embossed. Others are printed under the photo on the front. Others appear as full-page ads on the back.  Note this one to the right:  “Cloudy days good as sunshine. Studio open every day.”

The Internet provides the speed we all crave, but it does not evoke a sense of beauty and art along with the news it delivers.   I wasn’t alive in the pre-dawn hours of the 20th Century, but if I had been, I imagine I would have my scissors in hand waiting for the newspaper to arrive.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Artist Trading Cards, Assemblage Art, Phototopia, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

