Knitting Nirvana

first sock

What is this, week five?  And I’m only on my first heel.  My mentor (did I mention she has a Ph.D in polymer chemistry?) is so adept at knitting socks I feel a tiny bit intimated when I ask her seventeen times about which row I should be on.  She must think I am mindless, or drunk, but I’m having the hardest time keeping track of my stitches, even with writing them down. And around me everyone is eating and knitting and talking and laughing and walking around, all at the same time.                           I LOVE this group!

It’s fun to watch other projects progress. For instance, one girl has almost finished an afghan, and I remember seeing her make the smallest of the squares in the middle of the panels.  Each week she’d be doing a different color.

first heel

This is great motivation for me.  I am knitting at home, but I have little panic attacks because I’m afraid I’m going to do something wrong without the constant monitoring of my “Mama Knitter.”   She reminds me of when I had a small child.  I couldn’t go more than a few seconds without checking him, making sure he was still trying to figure out why that triangle block wouldn’t go into that square hole of his Fisher Price toy.  I see her doing this; looking up often to check on me. I feel so safe, like I’m in knitting nirvana, under her watchful eye.

I’m trying to think of the appropriate gift for someone who has taught me to knit a pair of socks.  I’ll keep my eye out for a diamond necklace.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Phototopia, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

