Pandora Will Set You Free

Radio Egg

Last summer while on my island I was blessed with several radio stations that played the most amazing music I’d ever heard.  New England has not lost the true meaning of real radio.  I had a pad and pen near the Bose that I brought with me, and I kept notes on new artists, old forgotten favorites, and the sheer volume of unscripted radio, something unheard of in Florida.  Here it is “corporate” radio, so dull and so redundant I can often tell which song they will play next because I endured the same playlist the day before.  But unlike my car radio, when I am in my studio I have access to my computer, and Pandora is like a pair of wings.  I have a universe of music at my fingertips, a good set of speakers to play it for me, and yet I seem to be stuck in my own playlist that began with Tom Rush’s “No Regrets.”  I hear a lot of Cat Stevens, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, Bob Dylan, Paul Simon, Johnny Prine and Bonnie Raitt.  Commercials are few and far between, and if I wanted, I could pay for this privilege and avoid those ads, but you know my answer to that. Right now Neil Young is singing Sugar Mountain, a song I haven’t heard in thirty years.  The music is perfect for sewing and crafting.  And it beats the heck out of CNN and the drone of the wars, while being the perfect adjunct to NPR.  If you haven’t tried Pandora, you should. Just put in ONE SONG, and watch what happens.  You’ll be whisked back in time, or catapulted into a new world of music you didn’t know existed. Either way, it’s the most pleasant way to spend studio time.

And the night shall be filled with music,
And the cares that infest the day
Shall fold their tents like the Arabs
And as silently steal away.

~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, The Day Is Done

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

