Prickly Pincushions

There should be a written caveat on your home page; something you should read every time you log in to the Internet:  If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

I got up early this morning to go yardsailing, and because I was home unusually early and empty-handed, I thought I’d dive right into my next series of pincushions, carrots.  I decided to check out blogs on WordPress to see who else in the pincushion world is sharing.  I found a great site that came with instructions galore, but also the recommendation of a book:  Pretty Little Pincushions, by Lark Books.  So I went looking for it.  My first stop was HamiltonBook.com.  No luck.  Then Amazon.com.  Luck, but I decided to keep looking.  Then I just Googled the book title and the first, head-of-the-page, bookseller offered it at a ridiculously low price with free shipping.

Hum.

Pretty Little Pincushions

I’m getting ready to click and buy, and then my real, non-sleepy self (probably as a result of the adrenaline now in my bloodstream because I think I’m about to get a deal) kicks in and I decide instead to Google the words:  “Complaints[insert name of bookseller here],” and of course it is a SCAM. They get your credit card number and away they go.

So I read through a few of the complaints, and apparently this site (which operates under three different names) has a litany of legal issues, not the least of which is bogus SEO on Google, but they continue to operate, and they continue to scam. But just not with my money.  Not today.

It’s a shame this has to happen, and I worry that sometimes I’m getting too comfortable here in the “Internets!” I use Paypal and so far I have not had a problem.  But scams exist because they work.  I just have to remind myself of the dictum, “If it appears too good to be true, it probably is.”

However, my idea of sharing transcends pincushions, and I think we owe each other this kind of information.  I think this is the quintessential example of “safety in numbers.” Spread the word.

Oh, and I bought the book used from Amazon, along with a similar one that has 93 pincushion patterns.  Can’t wait to receive them and share them with you.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

