Textile Collage: CREATE

Because I never throw away anything that can be used in a craft, I have bags of scrap fabric with pieces as small as an inch by an inch, but others as large as a small hanky. Anything larger gets sent back to the stacks. This gives me latitude when I make these fabric collages, though I realize that too many different fabrics can spoil a collage by making it too complex. Today was a trial run on the banners I hope to make for my shooth.  Signs of any kind sell.

 

I’m making wooden signs like the one over the fireplace from Valentine’s Day, blogged about recently in Valentine Vignette.  But I’m also going to make textile banners.  I got my inspiration from Ruth Rae in her book layered, tattered & stitched [sic].   Except for the word “create” and the fact that we each used fabric, the similarity stops there.

Every one is made on the fly.  I didn’t use a pattern except to put the fabrics in a pile, and find the lettering from my stash.  Once the collage was sewn (with a wide variety of stitches on my Curvy) I ironed some very heavy Pellon (Peltex 70) which is stronger than cardboard to the back.  This will keep them straight, making them more readable as a banner. The foundation fabric came off a skirt I recently bought that is gypsy-ish and already had some sequin decorations.

I used rubber stamps on fabric with ColorBox pigmented ink (Cocoa).  I like this product because it doesn’t bleed.

No directions will follow, just motivation to make your own banner, in your own words. I’ll probably do five or six of these, hanging one for display. I open in 22 days.  I can’t imagine I’ll be ready.  I’m so worried it will look barren, and I’ve yet to find enough display pieces.

This should be assembled by tomorrow, attached with ribbons and something for bling, though I don’t yet know what.  I’ll post the kaboodle then so you can tell me if I’m crazy after you see it.

Go ahead.  Try one.  They’re fun to make!

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

