Knitting Needle Keeper

Was supposed to be a bookmark!

Sharon Franco Rothschild wrote a wonderful book about bringing new life to old wool sweaters:  Sweater Renewal, A Potter Craft Book.  And there is a great chapter on knitting needle keepers.  Let me quote her: “Knitting needles and socks have two things in common: They come in matching pairs, and one of them is always disappearing.”  She’s got that right.  I have a drawer full of single knitting needles, and don’t get me started on socks. Yes!  I am still knitting those freaking socks, and probably will be on the day I die. But rather than put up another tirade on my inability to conquer the sock, I thought I would give her a “shout-out” on this great book.

Details of petit point knitting needle holder

The chapter on the pocket-style protectors gave me lots of ideas. Her’s are cute and easy, and work up fast.  I was turning the page when I noticed an old bookmark I needlepointed years ago staring back at me from a shelf next to my desk.  It had raw edges and for one reason or another, I never made it up, though the needlepointing was complete.

Knitting Needle Holders from Sweater Renewal, Sharon Rothschild

Nothing about the size or shape needed changing, and simply making it into a pocket, lining the interior, and hand-sewing the bottom provided a beautiful beginning to what I know will be the future of a basket full of knitting needle holders.  I have so many completed, but “unframed,” needlework projects that have been waiting for me to win the lottery.  That’s just not going to happen.    And I now realize several of these little works of art would make wonderful needle cases, both large and small. Not only can I put these old projects to use, but I get to look at them again and be reminded of my life during the time I made them.  Some of these memories are very sweet, and I’m happy to have been reminded of them.  I suppose you could just knit some of these up, or even make some out of scrapbook materials.  I love pretty little containers.  Don’t you?

Check out this book for more ideas, and look around your own studio.  If you come up with more knitting needle holder ideas, I hope you’ll share them.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

