Alphabet Art: A Textile Collage Book (letter H)

Though this is the beginning of a very prodigious commitment, I’m throwing it out here as motivation.  There are just too many new books and magazines calling me, like Bali Hai, making me want to do these pages and make a fabric book.

The Letter H

Part of the attraction is the latitude of this art form:  Anything Goes!  But also there’s great satisfaction during the creative process because of all the short-term goals.   If you’re doing an alphabet book, like me, you get the creative and emotional reward after each letter page, and you can spend a few days patting yourself on the back while you design the next one.

You don’t have to do these in order either.  Let’s say you just want to do the letters of your name, or the name of a child or grandchild.

Details

Can you imagine a baby book made specifically for the new mom?  I think it would be the perfect keepsake.

Or a wedding present for the bride and groom.  Do just enough pages for their initials and date and put it in a memory box.  Given the choice… something like this or a toaster, I think the toaster would be….toast.

If you are like me, the most difficult part is starting.  The first twenty things I put down in my design looked awful.  But I stuck with it, changing out snippets and moving things around until I liked what I saw.  Then I drew the design on paper so I wouldn’t forget it, disassembled it, and then started sewing things permanently into place.   Though you see the letter D in rhinestone, this page is for H and the clear images of hearts.  Maybe some of these will be metaphorical and you’ll have to hunt for the letter’s meaning.  Or perhaps I will cut out the actual letter from fabric and turn it into something.  There are no rules, and the possibilities are endless.

Flower Detail (mother-of-pearl button, real pearls on stem)

My pages are approximately 12″ by 12″, but any size you’re comfortable working with will do.  The magazines are filled with tiny ones, but I find my eyesight simply can’t adjust to that fine work anymore.

My goal is one a week.  That will take me through New Years. It sounds lofty, but I completed this first page in one rainy day.  As the day progressed I grew more confident, and I worried less and less about neatness and hanging threads, which those true collage artists would tell you are “good things” in textile collage art.  I think a few hours or even an afternoon per page will be enough in the future, especially if I start a pile of “possibilities” through the week.

I challenge any one who reads this to join me, and if you do I’ll subscribe to your post and we’ll share our results.  Each of mine will appear as they are finished, and I will link all my others to the newest so that if you’ve stumbled upon this blog you can see the progress.

CLICK ON THESE PHOTOS FOR ENLARGEMENT AND MORE DETAIL.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

