Alphabet Art: A Textile Collage Book (letter S)

Click to Enlarge

This one took me through a potential beading obsession quickly.  I can appreciate all those beaded handbags I see in the stores because now I know how long and tedious the beading process is. Perhaps tedious is not the right word, but you need to have a plan (and I mean a good one) before you start.

Click to Enlarge

These beads are a bit larger than seed beads.  I’m not familiar with gauges or bead nomenclature.   If you look closely you can see I went in rows when starting the sun.  I don’t recommend this because I like the haphazard look of the lower part of the sun better. The rhinestones eyes required wrapping thread around the metal hooks holding the rhinestones, and then sewing into place.  That was the most difficult. The sun rays were cut from an old applique of a sunflower, and the clouds were appliques from my handmade wedding dress, so they’re almost antiques. Old buttons finish the garden, and if you look closely you can see crocheted lace remnants here and there.


Click to Enlarge

 

I started Sunday and worked through last night’s Baseball All-Star Game.  It’s good to get a jump on next week since I haven’t even decided upon a letter though I’m leaning toward the letter X just to get it over with.  Any suggestions?

I’ll install a category button under the header for these pages once I get a few more completed.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

