Hitting a WordPress Milestone with Cliff Notes

I am surely considered a neophyte in the blogging business, yet I am six away from reaching 5000 clicks with just under 100 blogs.  Yes, I know this is nothing to squawk about.  But know this: my drivel is original, and, like virtually everyone I subscribe to, not reposted or copied from somewhere else.  I can count on one hand the number of Youtubes I proffered simply because I couldn’t help myself….they were so cool. And even then, possibly because Youtube is territorial, those blogs became corrupted and no longer had sound, so I removed them.

This got me to thinking what people liked or didn’t like about my blog, and the stats button had the answer.  Except for the usual subscribers seeing what was new on my home page, Unbroken, An Unauthorized Review got the most hits.  I couldn’t figure this out until I realized that I used the words “Cliff Notes” within the text of this blog, and the combination of “Unbroken” and “Cliff Notes” put me on the front page of Google, sometimes in first place.  This was totally inadvertent, but illuminating when you think how many people would rather read about a book than actually read the book.  And it was a fabulous book.

Second place was Saving The Pins, One Cushion at a Time.  This is a photo-intensive blog about strawberry pincushions.  Apparently there are more than a few crafters snorkeling WordPress for pincushion ideas.  Who knew?

As My Cat Watches was probably my shortest, certainly my most poetic, blog.  I was just remarking about the volume and diversity of my own crafting interests and how I manage to keep my ideas up in the air all at once.

After these three, things slow down at a steady pace.  I love that WordPress allows this type of retrospective.  If I was blogging for dollars I would most definitely just add the words “Cliff Notes” to all my blogs (like I just did), to see what people could possibly not be wanting to read.

Thanks for clicking.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

