Alphabet Art: A Textile Collage Book (letter C)

Textile Collage (letter C for Crow)

I’ve written poems about crows; made pillows in the shape of crows; used their iconic images in numerous paintings, and this is not the first time I’ve put one in a textile collage.  I’m drawn to crows for many reasons, not the least of which is their birdcall.  Perhaps it is because their sound is so easy to identify.  But what I like most about them is the image conjured in my mind when I hear one in my yard.  I can pretend there is no golf course out there and no golf carts whizzing about.  Instead, I imagine a series of fields behind a barn, with mountains in the distance.  There is a low-hanging mist and a chill in the air.  The harvest is in.  The colors are fading, and I can detect the faint smell of burning leaves.    Always in this daydream is the sound of a lone crow calling for companionship.

Quilted Pumpkin

This textile page is full of fall colors, but is really nothing more than a collage of different fabrics with lots of hand stitching giving small sections a trapunto look and feel.  The background fabric was what got me started on the theme, and I used some tiny quilts I’d made years ago, cut up and finally given some purpose.   I originally thought I might use this for the letter F (fall), but then realized I’d already used it for Fish. I might have used it for the letter P for pumpkin, but then again, I may do a separate pumpkin page because I love these colors so much.  Seven down; nineteen to go.  Is anyone else out there keeping up?  I’d love to see what pages you’ve completed.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

