Alphabet Art: A Textile Collage Book (letter P)

Click to Enlarge for Detail

I took my own advice and kept the fall fabrics on my desk to do the letter P. As any quilter will tell you, once you start a stash of fat quarters (or even entire bolts), no matter how much of it you use to make no matter how many quilts, the stash will mysteriously grow – most likely at night when strange things happen in the house.  (True story:  The other day I opened a pre-washed fold of fabric that was clearly tagged, by me, to be one yard even.  But when I measured it for the project, it was two yards! Mistake?  Gift from the JoAnns?  Pre-senile dementia? Or spontaneous textile transmutation?)

The pumpkin is painted directly onto the fabric, and the three layers are 100% cotton chosen for their “frayability.”  The foundation fabric is yet another mystery as I neglected to look at the composition when I bought it.

A Painted Pumpkin

It’s like a felt or ultrasuade, quite thick, and the design which is deeply embossed and complex made me swoon with ideas. I bought 1/3 yard recently at Hobby Lobby.  (Did you know that Hobby Lobby carries Northcott fabrics … “Cottons that feel like silk”? Well they do, and if you use your coupon, a rarity in a quilt shop, you can save serious money on seriously beautiful fabrics.) But I digress.

The leaves are embroidered recycled wool felt, embellished with simple machine stitching.  I designed this page for the simplicity of it; to let the fabrics do the talking.  I like what they say:  It’s almost fall.  The weather is changing.  The gardens will sleep.  AND, the crisp night air is on its way.  Listen for the crow.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

