Alphabet Art: Textile Collage Book (letter D)

Decapod: Your classic Maine lobster

Do you even know what a decapod is?  I didn’t, at least not until I was looking feverishly for some letter to use with this previously painted lobster.  I’d painted this on muslin for a decorative painting group project.  We were making a quilt, and everyone got to paint what they wanted as long as it had something to do with the ocean.  Mine was not needed, so there it sat.  And like a lot of my projects, this was never made into anything, until now.

Details

It is also a prime example of how resilient acrylics are when applied to fabric, and it is a couple of years old.  I’ve rolled it, folded it, and had it laying about on my desk for awhile when my husband inadvertently put a glass on it that sweated and should have left a watermark, but didn’t.

This is an original painting by me, but my model came from a book, author unknown.  I was thinking it might have been Graham Rust who designs needlepoint, among other things, but I can’t find it anywhere.

Keep scrolling for the pictures I took when I first painted it, and as you can see the scallop was an afterthought to cover up something written in pencil for the quilt.  I haven’t “treated” this with a protective acrylic because I like the flat look of it, but I might before I install it into the book.

I am just over the half-way mark on this project, with E, I, J, K, N, R, U, V, W, X, Y, and Z to go.  Any suggestions?

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alphabet Art: Textile Collage Book (letter D)

  1. E-evergreen, equal, erotic, extraordinary
    I-indelible, icy, island
    J-jovial, juvenile, juicy
    K-kumquat, knitting, knowledge, kangaroo
    N-nursery, neo…, noveau, nut
    R-relaxing, recipe, realm, rhythm, raggedy, reflect
    U-uniform, unequal, umber, umbrella, Uncle Sam
    W-wine, worldly, white, walrus, warrior, water
    X-xanthic, xylophone, X-ray, X marks the spot
    Y-yarn, yellow, yo-yo, yearn, yummy
    Z-zinnia, zest, zephyr, zig zag, zodiac, zany

Leave a Reply

