Exquisite Corpse: Halloween Ready

Exquisite Corpse

I’m not in an art class this fall, which is unusual because I often take some kind of class each semester.  And it occurred to me while I was snorkeling the web looking for a skull to draw that I’d already sketched one in charcoal for one of these classes.  It was for the Exquisite Corpse class project. If you’re not familiar with the term, I’ll explain. Each of us took a sheet of paper that had a mark on the bottom that indicated we should draw a head, a torso, or legs and feet.  It could be any shape, any kind, any animal, any “thing” we wanted, as long as it was meant to be a head, torso, or legs. I actually didn’t use this skull, but rather a three dimensional papier mache mask I entitled “Holy Cow, I Love Your Eyes.”  Those are cows in the eye sockets that were originally part of a cheap bracelet that was a ring of metal cows.   The instructor took all the papers from all his classes and combined them in a show of Exquisite Corpse creatures.  I’ve done several of these projects since, including a large, turnstile of twelve separate canvasses so that you could make multiple exquisite corpses that I entered in a school-wide show.  It took me months to make.  I won nothing. However, when I got home that night, my husband had a trophy waiting for me.  He either really liked my work, or he KNEW I wasn’t going to win a ribbon.  Either way, it was one of the nicest things he’s ever done, and yet another reason I love him so much.

Holy Cow! I Love Your Eyes!

I’m reading a blog now, Keepmeinstitchez, where the author is attending classes for textile art. She is very enthusiastic about her craft and I’ve been enjoying tagging along with her.  Each new experience with her makes me miss school, and now I’m contemplating taking another art class this winter – if we don’t move by then.

The skull sketch will be redone on fabric and used in one of my Alphabet Art Textile Collage pages…soon to be finished and blogged.  If you want to copy this for any Halloween decorations, help yourself.  It’s ugly enough; that’s for sure! But then it’s supposed to be, right?

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

