Making Your Own Banner

The list of things I can’t do is endless.  I’m not talking about splitting the atom here, but rather just things like Photoshop and texting and Wii.  I bought Photoshop, and in fact it is staring up at me from my Mac dock.  I took a $300 class, and learned nothing.  The instruction was a scam; the instructor a scammer, and I was the should-have-known-better scameee.  Then I tried the free tutorials that come with the Photoshop program. That didn’t work either.  And the Youtubes I chose from the morass of helpful hints are just as useless to me.  I’m no better at technology than I am at knitting socks.  I just don’t get it.

But then earlier today I read where you can buy these beautiful banners, with your site custom inscribed.  Indeed, you can buy entire websites with buttons, banners, and probably bells and bows, all “hand-painted” and copyrighted.  And then my epiphany…

I can “hand paint.”  I can draw just about anything.  And I can draw on pre-printed cardstock.  I can stamp on book and magazine pages, not to mention some of those beautiful Restoration Hardware catalogue pictures of rugs that I can scan and print.  I can glue and stamp and collage my way around just about anything.  And then I can take a picture.  And I know how to upload; who doesn’t?  Wordpress helps you slice what will fit in the banner space.  So I just figured out I have an (un)virtual endless number of ways to create a banner.

The banner above is my fourth foray into the world of creating my own graphics the old fashion way.  No, I know it’s not great!  It’s not even good.  But it’s a start.  And I can see myself creating something new, something timely, something that will change with the seasons and the holidays, and of course, my whim, whenever I feel like it.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Phototopia, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Making Your Own Banner

  1. vanesseva says:

    Love the banner…how did you do that? I would love to make a banner like that for my Etsy shop doing my painting…could you give instructions? Please? As for socks…it is gratifying to hear of someone else who can’t knit socks…I have heard from family members, ‘what do you mean it’s hard to knit socks? Easiest thing ever”…um…no. Eva

    • whimseytopia says:

      Hi Eva. Simple really. I took a sheet of scrapbook paper, stamped it with a $1 spiderweb stamp from Michaels, and then sent it to a program which came with my computer (An Apple) and added the words with a font I downloaded for free from the Internet. It took about an hour from start to finish.

      Google free fonts and download what you like. I don’t have enough computer acumen to tell you about programs to add words. But most computers have this option.

      Take the final product to the Header or Banner section of your blog, and pop it in. I have several banners I change through the year. Hope this works for you. Patsye

  2. Josette says:

    Inspiring! Thanks for the great idea!

  3. averyclaire says:

    This is FANTASTIC. You are so creative and talented. I love it. So unique and special….just like you.

  4. Jill says:

    Wow! That’s nice! I’m like you. I barely even know how to answer my cellphone and I’m NOT exaggerating! And you know what? I really don’t care about all the bells and whistles out there. I have been interested in PhotoShop, but then I saw the price. WHEW! I’ll stick to gluesticks and scissors too!!

  5. Love your banner! We have PS at work along with the “Bible” and Dummies books to help out. One of my work goals was to learn PS this year. It’s still a mystery to me.

  6. Katharine says:

    Congratulations on your new banner! Fabulous!

Leave a Reply

