Can’t Think of a Name for This Post!

1838 Sampler

I have a collection of antique needlework samplers, if you consider two a collection, and both were given to me by my mother.  The one pictured is from 1838, and I believe the other is even earlier.  An 8-year-old named Mehitable Frances Stevens in Newport, New Hampshire probably used red thread in the middle which is why it looks like it’s missing. Upon closer inspection you can see the lettering and the threads, but they are faded to near translucence.

A blogging buddy, Averyclaire, just finished a cross-stitch project that is stunning.  So naturally I went looking through my stash of fabrics and patterns for cross-stitch and didn’t like what I had.  Then I remembered a dress I bought at a thrift shop (for a song), which came with 10 shell buttons. Because it’s a 3X, it has yards of beautiful 48 count pure linen, all screaming to be tea dyed and worked into new projects.

For the linen stash

As anyone who regularly reads my blogs will attest, I am as malleable as butter when it comes to enthusiasm for a particular craft.  All I need to do is read about someone’s current project, and I want to do it too.

Not quite finished...

That’s why I’m currently working on Socks 6.0, a textile alphabet book, a Halloween cross-stitch (by Drawn Threads), several Halloween ATC’s I’ll be posting soon, and some bat dolls. I’m nothing if not versatile.

I'm stitching the scissor fob on the right.

And speaking of versatile, Northern Narratives  just nominated me as a Versatile Blogger.  I am honored, but I’m not sure what that means. It has, however, motivated me to create a badge for an award I would like to give out.  I’m working on the badge and have been reading frequently to see who might be my first recipient.  I’m assuming you don’t need a license or title or even permission to award such a distinction, but rather this is all for fun, and a nice way to compliment bloggers for their efforts. Maybe it will go to YOU!

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Artist Trading Cards, Knitting, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Can’t Think of a Name for This Post!

  1. helen says:

    As a young girl, (I am 74 now) I was always fascinated by my great grandmothers sampler and took it for my own. Recently I found another one in Germany which was about to be thrown out and I treasure this as well even if it is not from my family. I am sure it is worked in hand woven linen. helen from australia

  2. I love looking at old cross-stich samplers too. I always try to imagine what it was like trying to stitch by lantern light. My eyes would probably go buggy!

  3. Lelia says:

    your sampler is beautiful!

  4. Oh Patsye, I’m drooling here! I wish I could see these up close! This is a prime example of how what we do matters, even after we’re gone. My Granny Girl’s funeral really hit that message home to me. As she lay at peace, the family had set up a display that included some quilts, socks and mittens that she had made. That right there got me even more fired up to do what I do. Some day my loved ones won’t be able to hold me, but they will be able to hold a piece of me. Something that I put my love, heart and soul into.

  5. I have saved several dresses to recycle/upcycle the fabric. I should go to the thrift shops to see what they have but their location is not convenient so I do not go. My mother-in-law had a huge stash of preprinted linen dresser scarves, doilies, etc. from the 1940’s-1960’s that found their way to my home. Not sure what to do with them but I have a few ideas but you always inspire me to do something with these finds.

  6. Katharine says:

    Congratulations, Patsye!
    I visited northernnarratives’ site and have been exploring the pages of other award winners. It’s a great web-weaving (networking) tool.
    You have inspired me to do some tea-dyeing today.

  7. northernnarratives says:

    Yes, the badges and awards are just for fun. I am amazed that you own an historic needlework sample. I have only seen these in museums. I used to do a lot of needlework and still have all my supplies. One of these days, I’ll probably do something again. Thanks for another interesting post 🙂

    • Thank You! You have just probably saved these samplers. I took a longer look at them after reading the word “historic” in your comment. Though I don’t think they’re valuable, they are certainly representative of Americana, and I immediately removed them from their frames so that I would be certain they were not mounted on something containing acid. They probably were. But I’m going to have them remounted with acid-free products and perhaps have someone who knows what they’re doing (wouldn’t be me) to keep these viable for another couple of hundred years. Thank you again. By the way, out of the frame I could read the date: It’s 1834, not 1838. These really are quite old. I wish I knew where my mother got them. Thank you again and again. Patsye

Leave a Reply

