How to Install A Weather Widget on WordPress

How many days has it been?  Four?  I’ve been trying, unsuccessfully, to get a weather widget on my site since I get a lot of questions about our Florida weather.  I even wrote to WordPress for help, and they uncharacteristically did not reply.  I had given up, just a minute ago, and as I was about to walk away from this confounded computer I thought I would try one more thing: putting the HTML code of the last widget I’d seen and copied into the text area.  And it worked. Don’t ask me how, but if you’re looking to put this one up on your site, this is how you do it:

Go to HERE;
Click “Weather Widget”….NOT the green “Download”
Fill out the forms
Copy the HTML code (that big massive pile of letters and numbers they tell you to copy)
Open Widgets on your WordPress site (it’s under Appearance)
Drag a “Text” widget to the area you would like the weather widget to appear
Paste what you copied into text area
Type in a title (if you want to – I didn’t), 
Click SAVE, (make sure that little wheel has stopped turning before leaving the page), and that’s it!
 
I didn’t expect it to work but it did and has, and one can only hope will keep working. But only time will tell.  What I like most about this widget is the night and day look. When it’s dark outside, the window shows it, but if you click on the forecast for tomorrow, it will show daylight, with whatever conditions will be expected…like rain. Also, if you click in the center, it gives you more information on a full screen.  Click your escape button to make it small again.  
 
What I learned from this was that all widgets are NOT compatible with WordPress, or my MAC, or perhaps my Karma, because all of the others I tried, no matter how or where or when I tried to install them on my site, did not work.  This one did. 
 
I hope I’ve saved you some time, and that you enjoy this too.  If you can’t see it from here, scroll down a little and it appears on the right.   I think this is Crow Worthy!
 
About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How to Install A Weather Widget on WordPress

  1. northernnarratives says:

    I also had trouble finding a weather widget that would work. I searched in the WordPress Forums and it seems that widgets with Java (whatever that means!!!) do not work on WordPress. So I had to find a simple one for my blog .. Judy

  2. cubbyholes says:

    woohoo thanks! Too bad it didn’t have my town though. I had to pick one about 20 mins away. Ah well it still looks nice 🙂

  3. maureenc says:

    It worked FINE for me on my Blogger blog, but my WordPress (which is my favourite blog) didn’t want to know me.!
    So, back to the drawing board…….”Appearances/widgets/whatever”

    MORE time about to be wasted

    • Bummer. But I can relate. I was on every imaginable weather widget on the Internet until this one somehow “took.” And as my post indicates, I almost walked away, my mind numb from trying different configurations and different buttons. I wish I could help you. Hang in there! Patsye

  4. Katharine says:

    I did it, and with your instructions it worked like a charm on the first try (I, too, have a Mac). Thank you, Patsye.

  5. Thank you!! And yes, this IS Crow Worthy. I’m going to try it.

Leave a Reply

