READ ME, A New Widget

I’m having a field day with my widget board.  Making the Crow Worthy Award has fairly glued me to this chair trying all kinds of different ways to enhance my blog. I may be wrong, but I think people are more attracted to images than words… at least I am.  And I realize now that all my menu options can be placed as widgets; represented as images; and linked to pages.  I doubt that anyone ever noticed that my header menu even had a “Books” button, yet alone clicked on it.  Having said that, I get at least one click a day on my post about Unbroken.  This is almost always a result of a Google search.

Because I read so many books, yet I am not good at writing book reviews, I thought I would just add each new book to a Recommended Books list, with a few lines about why I liked the book, or even why I didn’t. There will be no spoilers, and because I read a lot of contemporary lit you will probably recognize many of my selections.  But I am also going to try to go back to some of my favorites, at least the ones I remember enough to write something about, and put them on the list as well.  One of my beloved books is Ahab’s Wife, and it will shortly appear on this list.

This new widget will serve several purposes.  It will remind me to add my recent reads to the list, and in doing so I will have something written to jolt my memory that I even read the book.  I read so many books I often forget from year to year which ones I’ve already read.  Further, it will be easier for you to find my recommendations, and hopefully be encouraged to share the read.  Like other posts, each will have a comment section so that we can have a dialog about these books.  Everyone can make suggestions, recommendations and caveats about their own reading lists.

Once again this exercise has taught me new things about widgets, Photoshop, my blog, and how I want to use this new venue and share with others.   I hope you’ll visit often.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to READ ME, A New Widget

  1. Libraland says:

    How can I create my own widget for my blog? Thanks advance!:)

    • Good Morning Lucky Girl. You wanted to know how to install a widget on your blog. That’s a big question and I am not a techno person, but rather an old woman who just happens to enjoy messing with her computer.

      It would depend upon what kind of computer you have; what software is installed on it; who your server is; who hosts your blog or if it is self-hosting, and that’s just for starters. I wrote the post about the weather widget after many trials to find a widget compatible with my computer and my host. WordPress is fussy about what they will link to.

      So the short answer is I can not help you. All widgets are different, so it would mainly depend upon what you want the widget to do. I see you are in Viet Nam. Perhaps someone closer would be able to pop one on your computer for you. There is a help section in your blog that is manned by the host. They would be best able to help you as well.
      I’m sorry I can’t. I appreciate your reading my blog, and hope that can find the technical help you need. Widgets are fun, so don’t give up! Have a great day, and thanks for commenting. Patsye p.s. I do not have Skyp or Texting or Yahoo or Facebook. Sorry.

  2. Jill says:

    Good for you for having the patience and endurance to pursue all this. As much as I’d love to enhance my blog, get some fun software, and learn more features, I’ve got neither patience nor endurance!

  3. Sue McB says:

    Love the swan!

    • Hi Sue: I had a page of these swans that I made years ago for soldered glass bookmarks. I didn’t know where they came from, but they are antiques (post copyright) of some kind or I wouldn’t have “borrowed” them. So when I found the page and saw the “read me” (which I put on them), it occurred to me to start a new widget. Would you like me to send you the image? I doubt you can find it on the Internet. Patsye

Leave a Reply

