Halloween Hoopla!

Candy is not my first choice as a trick-or-treat giveaway.  This is because my system is “one for them and two for me” which makes for a serious weight gain in a matter of hours.  So I normally try something different.  Last year it was “Learn to Juggle” kits with three balls.  They were all over the neighborhood the next morning.  The year before it was puzzles, which seemed to make it all the way to their homes.

This year I chose coloring books and magic tricks.  I’m diversifying.  The coloring books are a mix for both girls and boys, and they’ll go first because it’s the little kids who start their journey before it gets dark.  The magic tricks will be next as the school kids start to arrive.  They love the idea of having something to do when they get home and are too hyped up from all the sugar to get to sleep.  Then it’s the teenagers, and it is they who will except nothing other than a Snickers Bar which I will buy an hour before the festivities begin.

I can tell who’s at the door before I open it.  The tykes knock so gently you can barely hear them.  The middle school kids ring the door bell.  And the teenagers are making such a racket pushing and shoving and skateboarding up to the door, I’m answering before they even get up the steps hoping to minimize the damage.

But I love them all.  I love this time of year.  I love trick-or-treating and the festive atmosphere of this otherwise dull neighborhood.  I am starting to get very excited, and will be carving my pumpkin shortly.  Florida weather can bake a pumpkin right on the southern facing stoop.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Halloween Hoopla!

  1. rhymit61 says:

    You have such great ideas. I’m sure the children and their parents will appreciate non candy options. Thank you for your kind words regarding my mom’s passing. I really miss her.

  2. Those are great ideas, Patsye, I’d love to go trick-or-treating to your house and get something fun instead of candy (I have different stages when I’d eat candy every single day, all day long and then absolutely no sweets for months at a time) 😉

  3. jakesprinter says:

    Great and awesome idea thanks for sharing

  4. cubbyholes says:

    That’s a really cute idea doing the kits and coloring books instead of candy. We live in the boonies and haven’t had more than a few kids in the 6 years we’ve lived here, but I think this year we’ll have a few more due to some new neighbors. All of them are older tho so it will still be candy. The problem is… if we don’t get more than a kid or two….I’m stuck with all that lovely, scrumptious, chocolately, sweet, gooey, lucio…er… what was I talking about?

  5. Jill says:

    We don’t get any trick or treaters on my street so we have no problem taking the kids out. Down the street there used to be a mini carnival going on! Haunted house, games, all kinds of fun stuff. Sadly, the woman who started it all passed away and they haven’t done it since.

    Mary’s going to be Bugs Bunny and Nic will be an army man. There’s a party Sat. night and I’m dressing up as a housewife of the 60s-70s. I found the most hideous polyester, big bright flowered housecoat to wear at a thrift store!

  6. Grainne says:

    What wonderful ideas! My son LOVES little surprises like colouring books. They get so much candy anyway, it’s fun to change it up a little.

    I laughed when I read of your “system” (one for you two for me). That’s why I always take the lad out while his father hands out the candy around our house!

Leave a Reply

