Not in Florida

Click to Enlarge

Vacations can accomplish several things depending upon where, why, and with whom you go.  Ours are normally restful and joyful while I am there.  But they also make me restless and dispirited when I get back.  Every time I come home from anywhere, I have weeks and weeks of an overwhelming desire to leave again; to leave Florida, and return to the normalcy of four-season living.

Click to Enlarge

This Sunday morning at promptly 6:30, as is the case EVERY SINGLE DAY,  I was abruptly awakened by the golf course maintenance terrorists, and instead of churning up a sour stomach over the noise, I got up and came in here to find some virtual peace by strolling some New Englandesque lanes at the peak of their fall beauty. These photos were taken by someone else and most assuredly of somewhere else, but each is equally capable to making me feel I am not in Florida.

Photos are “stock” and copyright free.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not in Florida

  1. Beautiful photos! The first one reminds me of a road not too far from me.

    We got a surprise snow fall over the weekend though most of it is melted. Many sapplings were bent over with the weight of the snow on their leaves.

    I’ve often wondered if people miss the four seasons. I know I would. Except for February. That seems to be the longest, dreariest, coldest, snowiest month. But the other 11 months seem to make up for it.

    • Yes I heard about the snow. What I wouldn’t give to see and feel and even smell snow. The closest thing we have is heavy fog, which I have to admit is sometimes so ethereal and beautiful I walk around in it for fun. It too has a smell, and you can come back with dripping wet hair before you know it. But nothing in the weather world beats a big fat snowflake. I absolutely love snow.

  2. I love to go out in the park during fall, and now that I’m babysitting a 4 and a half year-old, it luckily happens more often 🙂 We really like collecting leaves, which I’ll dry and make projects out of.
    The photos are absolutely lovely, thanks for picking them for us to rest our eyes on.

    • Four and a half is a fantastic age. Lucky you. A girl or boy? How did this happen? Did I know about this? Do you babysit every day? Are you a Nanny…..au pair? Come to think of it, I don’t think I ever asked you what you’re doing for a living. I think I was thinking you were in school. Are you in school too?

  3. Jill says:

    How absolutely gorgeous these pictures are. I know how you feel about feeling restless when you get home. Whenever I visit Aunt Candy and Uncle Dane on their farm out in Western, PA, it’s always depressing coming home. They have so much space out there, no congestion and lots of freedom for the kids to roam about. BUT, they do experience much longer and colder winters so like everything, it’s a trade-off.

  4. cubbyholes says:

    Well…out winter season just dumped 3 ft. of snow on us… In october! Early for us to get so much so we’re all wondering what this bodes for the rest of the winter. Hoping for enough meltage to finish getting ready for winter. LOL.
    Jeanie

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    I cannot imagine living without four seasons. Hope you can one day move to a better place 🙂 Judy

    • Don’t even think about it, though I often write about it. It’s dreadful. We spend a lot of money each year just to “pretend” that we live up north by coming up for leaf-peeping and football. Just remember how lucky you are! Patsye

Leave a Reply

