364 Days Left Till Halloween

All Gone Now!

Halloween exceeded my expectations. The trick-or-treaters were all adorable – even the obstreperous teenagers – and we had over 130 kids come by, which is about average. The magic trick boxes were a huge hit (I unloaded 50 of them), as were the card tricks and coloring books.  The Snickers are all gone, and, well, I guess that’s it.

Boo Hoo!

I like Thanksgiving, but any female reading this will agree, it’s hardly a holiday for women.  I’m already thinking about the menu.  Last year was a Honey Baked Ham instead of a turkey, and I might try that again because I loved not getting up at four a.m. to stuff a bird.

The stores are now filled with Christmas, and I’m on a mission to finish my Alphabet Collage Textile Book.  I’m also working on a new needle punch project, a scarf for a Christmas present, more SOCKS that will never get done, and I’m trying my hand at making a pattern.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Halloween.  There’s only 364 days until the next one!

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Knitting, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 364 Days Left Till Halloween

  1. Deb says:

    I love your enthusiasm, as always. Once upon a time we had at least 150 trick or treaters, but over the years they had the nerve – the audacity! – to grow up and move on. Now we get about 25 kids. I still enjoy Halloween though and look forward to seeing the costumes, especially the creative ones that took some real thought and effort.

    • They’ll be back. And it is fun on this side of the coin too. Like most parents, I can “feel” their joy and excitement with every knock on the door. It’s just a great time of year; a great one-of-a-kind holiday. Thanks for commenting. Happy Thanksgiving! Patsye

  2. Maxine Cook says:

    Boo Hoo!! We had NO HALLOWEEN here because we had a foot of snow instead, forcing the cancellation of Halloween! (First time I ever can remember that!!) I don’t have any pictures of the snow either because I refused! to participate. I am just not ready for it…. yet! Thanks for thinking about us Patsye. I will take pictures for you next time 🙂 xoxo Max

  3. Jill says:

    I can’t believe it’s over. I still have craft projects in my mind for it! Now you KNOW how fast these next 2 months will fly.

  4. You’re so cute, love that title!

    And as much as I don’t like not having Halloween over here, I do like not having to slave in the kitchen for Thanksgiving. That said, I’d love to go back to Sicily and have another Thanksgiving dinner like my friend and I had last year 😉

    • There’s NO Halloween in Romania!!! I would start gathering signatures for a referendum for next election’s ballot – You’re from Romania for heaven’s sake. Isn’t that where Count Dracula is from, or is that a myth? I bet I had at least 5 Count Draculas at my door for trick-or-treat. That’s odd. Bet it’s a religious thing. A lot of our Baptists turn a blind eye to Halloween, but trust me when I say that if they thought they could get rid of it – THEY WOULD TRY.

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, more than 130 kids, it must have been great fun to see all the costumes! Judy

    • It was fun Judy. It’s the most fun ever. Each year it gets better too if only because of the most amazing costumes. I walked the main street (the one I live on) and there were dozens and dozens of card tables with chairs set up to ease of candy delivery, spooky things in the trees, several houses decked out for walk-throughs, lots of fog machines – some so big it made the whole area foggy. It’s amazing. Everyone had a blast.

  6. Oh, and I love your new banner!!

  7. Next year I’m coming to your house for treats! What lovely ideas!!

    • Thanks Patti. It’s the one holiday I love to do and instead of spending hundreds on mechanical mummies that I would be storing all year, I spend the money on the kids – for their fun. Also, then I don’t have to store anything big. Economy of both money and space.

Leave a Reply

