Needlepunchy

Under Construction

I think I now know how my friend Patti in West Virginia feels.  She’s always knitting something new.  She can’t get on an airplane without her knitting.  She’s definitely got the knitting bug, and she’s a master knitter.

But like all viruses, they do morph, and I think my socks obsession has morphed into a punch needle obsession.  And I think I know why.  Like knitting, there’s a learning curve, but trust me when I say punch needle’s is shorter.  Through all the football games I have stayed on track.  There’s no wondering where to start when you pick up a punch needle.  And with each hour, I think of more designs, more ways to dress these up, and more ways to use the finished product.  This lobster is going on a boat bag with yellow straps, but I couldn’t wait to show you my progress.

Details (Click to Enlarge)

I’d mentioned that these can be done like little pieces of art, with shading and almost pixilating the images.  But what I didn’t realize is that you can punch them backwards by turning it over and seeing from the right side (when usually you are working from the back) where a small new color can go, and then punch upwards – toward you, so that you have brought the needle up in the exact spot you want it to be.  Unless and until you try this needleart, you won’t really get the idea, but there are many ways to do this besides the left-to-right or right-to-left or even circular punching.

If you click on the photo to the right, you can enlarge it twice, and you will definitely see holes; places that can use more thread; places I missed.  But that’s the best part of this – the tweaking and repairing is such a simple process.  There are no OMG’s! involved because you simply add more punched thread to any missing space.  And if you don’t like what you see, take the needle, pull out the thread, and do the space again.  The weavers cloth is self-repairing, strong and very forgiving.

I plan to finish this by Sunday night, and I will post it attached to the bag hopefully by Monday.  Yes, yes, I know.  Where’s my Alphabet Book?  I have a few pages to post, but I got busy today making my new banner for the holidays.  I simply took a picture (I could have scanned it but didn’t want to cut the paper) of a page from a KC & Company’s Christmas pack, and then Photoshopped my message and name.  It could not have been simpler, and far easier than finding something unique in the morass of images on the Net.

From the Back

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Needlework, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Needlepunchy

  1. What?! A needlecraft they haven’t included in my course?! Your lobster looks amazing! This is something I would love to try at some point 🙂

  2. Grainne says:

    This looks like so much fun! I wish I had the patience to create something like this.

  3. deb says:

    The first photo looks like a lobster in a pot, not the backside of a lobster in a hoop! Love the details. I can see that this need punching could be an enticing thing to learn.

  4. Anonymous says:

    It’s so cool that the back looks as neat and tidy as it does, almost to the point of it being reversible if you wanted to get a different look. It really looks great!! Keep it up!
    Jeanie

    • Cutting the tails relatively close to the back makes it easier to find negative space to punch. They fray quickly and don’t pop back through. Just another thing I learned quickly when making the first one. Thanks for the encouragement. Patsye p.s. Jeanie: Where’s your blog? Where’s your website? Are you a crafter?

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    This guy is so cute and the details are amazing! Looking forward to seeing him on the boat bag 🙂

    • I finished last night before I went to bed. I’m going to back it and sew it on today, and perhaps paint something on the side of the bag because it needs more color. It’s quite large. I’ll try and post today. Thanks for the compliments. This one too will be a pattern. I think my next is either that elusive fox, my cat, or I might try a pie on an apron. I have so many designs swirling around in my head. …so many of these I want to do. It is soooooooooooo fun! Patsye

Leave a Reply

