Mixing It Up With Punch Needle

Bee Tote

Though previously posted as framed art, I decided to make my designs more marketable by suggesting alternative uses for them. I have so many old, unframed needlework projects languishing in boxes. Some have lost their appeal because styles have changed, while others are quite appealing but I simply haven’t gotten around to getting them framed up.  Also, where would I hang them?  That’s always a problem.

So after some thought about my bee skep and the bee, I decided they might look better on a tote, especially after turning the skep into a pin and adding the chain.  I used silicone to back the bee before I sewed it to the pocket.  This will keep it from unraveling if one of the loops catches on anything.  I then sprayed it with a healthy dose of Scotchgard upholstery protector, which should make any clean up a matter of wiping with a wet cloth.

Lobster on a Bag

Lobster Boat Bag

The lobster is cooked and red and ready to be sewn onto a larger yellow tote.  What is not showing up, no matter how I tweak this color, is the bright purple shadows or the whiteness of the background, similar to the background of the bee.  Must be something with my camera.  The surround is a #5 Pearl Cotton DMC twist, and I’m still working on the design of the header page for these patterns. I do have a name, however.  The Stargazer and the Whale. (Remember Ahab’s Wife? I just finished my third reading, and if possible I think this time was better than the first two. This is one amazing book!)  I’ve designed and drawn the whale at least thirty times, and I’ll be interested to hear what you think when I’ve completed it, which should be shortly.

I’m also working on “A Cosmic Cat” as my third pattern which is far more intricate and detailed than the the first two.  Now that I’ve gotten my feet wet with these, I feel emboldened.  And I have started a beautiful red fox design that will have more dimensions and different types of threads.  Honestly I can’t wait to be putting these up on Etsy, Ebay, or The Pattern Mart.  I’m going to do my part to promote this exciting art form.  I really LOVE making these, and if anyone reading this would give needle punch a try, I’m sure you’d enjoy it as well.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Needlework, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mixing It Up With Punch Needle

  1. Cubbyholes says:

    You got me thinking of other things you could make with them. If you made small ones, say 1″x1″ or maybe 2″x2″, you could make pins with them. Simple quilt block styles would be very pretty. You could also make them into hot pads, or finish them so you could sell them as is for sewers to put on sweatshirts, tshirts, etc as applique items. They really are pretty and should definately be seen and used. 🙂
    Jeanie

  2. Ruth says:

    this is a very practical and clever idea. they look great!

  3. Those are both beautiful! I love that you made them into portable art.

Leave a Reply

