A Different Toy Story

When I had a son and when he was little, I couldn’t give him enough, buy him enough, do for him enough.  Looking back I wish we had done more together.  But now I need grandchildren, and since he didn’t provide me with any, I have “found” a couple through one of his best friends.  They are wonderful and beautiful and I feel like they are my own.  Unfortunately they live in Great Britain.

This is cool when I am aching for a trip. Free food and lodging, and tons of entertainment.  But I miss them more and more, and now wish they lived nearby.  As they get older, and I get younger, I crave my time with them. So I need to send them things; tangible proof of my affection and love.  But holy smoke, postage prices to Europe are almost untenable.  I can spend $50 on gifts and another $75 to send them.  It makes no sense.

So this year, after sending their Halloween present of the book Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler, (which if you have not read, you must for the following reason:  I bought the book, and read it aloud while my husband drove us home from the bookstore.  At the end he said, and I quote: “Read it again!”).  He loved it.  I loved it. They loved it.  I am looking for my own copy now.  And in the process of searching the Net, I came across an advertisement for the live theatrical version which is now playing in England, but has not yet come to America.  I called their mom.  I mentioned the theatre.  She said it was close, just across the river, and I asked that she buy tickets “on me.”  She did.  The whole family went.  They loved it.  It was the perfect, and easiest, Christmas gift.

The best part of this story is that while the kids were waiting for the show, they kept asking “Where’s Patsye?”  Apparently little children perceive “Patsye is sending us to the show.” as “Patsye is taking us to the show.”  They wanted to see me.  They missed me. And of course hearing this made me cry with joy.

The money was sent as a “gift” on PayPal between our accounts (way easier than a trip to the post office), and the exchange rate was done automatically – all for a very reasonable fee.

This was such a fun thing for them, as well as their parents (who had no idea that the show even existed.) They think the boys will remember the night forever, especially since their dad reads the book to them almost every night.  So the policy is in place.  Because the world is so small, and my Internet is their Internet, I can simply look up fun things for them to do with “my grandchildren” and of course wait for approval – then just send the money.  These are memories, not toys.  And they’ll never get broken, tossed, or find themselves on a conveyor belt to be compacted.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Books, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Different Toy Story

  1. Pingback: Finding My Muse | whimseytopia

  2. Sue McB says:

    What a wonderful thing to do. Like you, I have no grandchildren, and none likely, so I envy you this connection – what a great way to keep it close when so far apart.

  3. What a wonderful idea and post. I’ve got tears in my eyes. Yes, material things come and go but the memories live on. I will add that book to MY reading list.

    Thanks for sharing this great story.

  4. Jill says:

    AMEN!!!!

    Sometimes it’s so hard hearing Mary talk about all the things kids her in school have, all the trips they’ve taken to Disney World, and how she can’t understand why we can’t have it either. I remind her how much she DOES have, trips we HAVE taken, and the fact that I’m home and they’re not in school and before and after school programs waiting for me to pick them up. I understand her not understanding, but if I’m not strong in this area, that’s where I’d fail her. She’s got to learn that life isn’t “fair” and she can’t have everything she wants simply because other kids have it. In the meantime, we try to create memories – like baking cookies for hours! Great post Patsye! You should be a writer for “Chicken Soup for the Soul”!

    • I have to be honest with you Jill. I wish you were my mother. I don’t remember making cookies, ever, with my mom. But my son and I made several batches together because we both loved eating them!

  5. Ruth says:

    What a great idea….and done with such love!
    I have 4 grandchildren that I adore and took them to a Christmas musical evening last Friday night..They are all teenagers now so you have to adjust your gift ideas 🙂

    • How lucky for you are that they’ll go with you. I had to beg my son to attend shows at the Kennedy Center. I even took him to see the musical Tommy, something I thought he would love. He said it was “OK.” And Cats! He didn’t like it much. Yet while in high school his was in drama! Go figure. Patsye p.s. Now that I think of it, we did drag him to The Nutcracker every year, which he’d sleep through. lol

Leave a Reply

