WordPress Girlfriends Forever

Girlfriends Forever

In less than six weeks, two friends have gone missing.  Both are not feeling well. Both are not blogging anymore.  But only one is going to keep me (us) updated. This not only makes me curious, but also very nervous, because I have warm feelings for each lady, and I consider them true friends.

I thought about this.  There are several people on here that I write to often and several others that we’ve actually exchanged addresses and sent each other small gifts.  It seems all of us like snail mail, and once an Internet friend knows your address and starts sending holiday cards, the relationship changes quickly.  I remember blogging about trying to keep everyone’s name in order and coming up with a diary of who’s who and where they live and what’s what. Well, I don’t have to do that anymore.  I know these people now.  No diary necessary.

So I have decided to take out a little insurance with some written instructions that I will tape to the back of my new computer.  Good Lord.  If something was to happen to me, I think WordPress would be the last thing on my husband’s mind.  And how to tell my Internet friends what happened, or where I am, or when I will be back would be daunting for him, since he’s not what anyone would call a computer geek.  This way, if the situation arises, he’ll have my password, be able to open my site, and can put up a note for all to see.  No worries. No wondering.  And God forbid, if something awful did happen, at least I would be off the “I wonder what happened to…. list.”

I think about my two “non-blogging friends every day.  Actually there are three, but one of them is pregnant, so that explains that.  I hope they are fine and will be back entertaining me with their wonderful stories and pictures in the very near future.  Things happen as we all know, and sabbaticals from WordPress can be a good thing.   But if one of you is reading this, and you would know who you are, I miss you and your posts.  I’m sending my best Karma your way, and hoping with all I have that you are doing well and will be back soon.

I’m writing my instructions tonight, and my husband will get the word over dinner. Then Jill and Ruth and Estrella and Max and Patti and Katharine and now Susan, AND all the rest of you will never wonder where I am.  Hopefully that will be because I will always be here, though this is probably where I should mention that I’ve been diagnosed with a series of small strokes and there are some lifestyle changes on my health menu.  One is not sitting in front of the computer too much!  But don’t worry.  I’m a tough old broad and have no intention of going anywhere soon.  Besides, I feel GREAT!

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WordPress Girlfriends Forever

  1. I am very impressed with your acuity looking forward. My very close friend (a lovely older woman) lost her husband recently, and the fact that they had made many preparations “in case of” was very helpful. It is good for all of us to be thoughtful, in case of injury and illness and death. You sound very wise. -kate

  2. I’ve actually given this a thought or two before and will do the same – I’d hate to end up on a “wonder what happened to…” list.
    And if for what ever reason you stopped blogging or emailing, it would be good to know what happened (or not).

  3. Cubbyholes says:

    I never thought of doing this, though it’s a wonderful idea. I think I’ll do the same thing. Gosh, it’s a little bit of a downer isn’t it? Yet I would be upset were I to know my friends were fretting over me so it’s a good precaution.

    • It IS a bit of a downer. But it’s one of those things that once you do it, you’ll have that back-of-your-mind good feeling that it’s done, and it’s another problem solved before there’s even a problem.

  4. I gave a sealed envelope with similar instructions to my daughter when we flew to Vegas recently. I told my her not to open it and that I wanted the envelope back when I got home. Then I told her husband to open it if we didn’t.

    Getting older isn’t for wimps!

  5. Ruth says:

    You have to be tough as getting older isn’t easy! Keep blogging 🙂

  6. Northern Narratives says:

    Hope that you continue to feel great and that you will be blogging for many years. Judy

    • Me too Judy. Fortunately with all my clinical experience in the ICU, I am both aware and yet relieved of the implications of this. It’s all about how you respond to the news. I am being very proactive. I can handle this. It’s my friends both on and off the Net that have given me the support and love that will see me through this. Thank you, and maybe you’ll take my idea and write your own information so we’ll always know you are OK. YOUR blog, as well as you, would be greatly missed if you simply stopped writing for whatever reason.

Leave a Reply

