Five Unusual Gift Ideas for the Man in Your Life

I have it easy because my husband buys what he needs and doesn’t need much.  Or am I really saying I have it hard because he never gives hints as to what he might like?  What he doesn’t realize is that the true joy of the holidays is in the giving. Often we find the process too arduous and just skip the gifts and go out for a nice meal. So I’ve decided to compile a list of some different gifts you may not have thought of; some a little more unusual than others, but here are my first five suggestions to get you started.

1.  If you know where he went to high school, order his high school yearbooks, or perhaps just the one from his senior year.  Chances are excellent he no longer has it, but you might ask before you go to the trouble.  Buy a bottle of wine and sit with him and listen while he talks ad nauseam about his perfect high school years.  You might be surprised what you’ll learn, and he will most definitely enjoy the trip down memory lane.  (Call the school itself and ask if they have real or downloadable copies.  Call the School District and ask about what they have available. Classmates.com has a lot of yearbooks to search if all else fails.)

2.  Baseball tickets.  If there’s no team nearby, try MLB.com and order a season of every team and every game that’s not blocked out for $25 a month from April to October.  This is a gift I buy for myself every year.  You can buy the same service for football on NFL NETWORK streaming online or for the TV.  Or better yet, buy a set of tickets for the two of you to see your local team or his college team.  Find out when next year’s tickets are available and buy them the day they come out for the best seats.  Put a voucher or promissory note under the tree.  College schedules are posted early and homecoming games are always a blast.  He’ll have the whole winter dead zone of sports to think about the upcoming game.

3.  Emergency Kits for his office.  My friend Estrella just posted THIS about a sewing kit in a jar which reminded me of these useful gifts.  Use a box or a small overnight bag, but find something that can fit either in or under his desk at work.  Put in a brand new white shirt that is folded for travel, underpants and tshirt, deodorant, disposable razor, toothpaste and brush, cologne, cash and anything you might think he’d need in an emergency.  This is a present that will definitely get used, and will be most appreciated when it does.  Be sure to replenish once the seal is broken.  And if you know your man well, you can think of other important things to add to this.

4.  If you’re willing to spend a bit more, send him someplace without you.  Buy a ski weekend for him and his best buddy.  There are packages available at Costco now for Utah, and they are fantastic deals.  Nothing says more to a man about trust than a gift like this.  He’d have to be a demon to dance the hanky panky while on this gifted trip.  Have flowers waiting for him in his room.  Perhaps a bottle of his favorite drink.  Knit a scarf and put the card with the tickets in the box with the scarf.  He will love your FOREVER for this one, and you’ll get yours when he gets home.

5.  Buy him a lesson or a class.  Golf lessons are on sale every Christmas.  Courses offer private as well as group lessons.  No matter how good a golfer he is, he can get better. But don’t stop there.  Perhaps he’s always wanted to learn to ski or snowboard.  Or sail. Let him try it out first on rental equipment, then if he likes it you have the perfect gift for the next time, and the next time, and the next time.  Skiers, golfers, sailors, etc. always need something.  Don’t overlook community college classes.  Photography, art, finance are just a few of the enormous number of classes that are extremely inexpensive.  You can sign him up online, pay for the class, and wrap the textbook for under the tree.

I’ve got five more ideas up my sleeve that I will post tomorrow.  There are eleven shopping days until Christmas, so I hope this helps.  I believe the more thought a person puts into a gift, the more it is appreciated.  Happy Holidays!

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Unusual Gift Ideas for the Man in Your Life

  1. Wow.. you have some unique ideas there 🙂

  2. Pingback: Five MORE Unusual Gifts for the Man in Your Life (a list continued) | whimseytopia

  3. Your ideas are great, I can see using this list to compile gifts for men who are difficult to shop for.
    And thank you for the mention, honey, you’re a sweetheart! *hugs*

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    Nice post. Can’t wait to see the rest of your ideas 🙂 Judy

Leave a Reply

